Mother’s Day Remembrance Frame


Hello We R fans!  Aly Dosdall from the design team here to share a fun tutorial with you.  Last weekend was Mother’s Day, and it is truly one of my very favorite days of the year.  My husband and kids go out of their way to make me feel extra special each year, and some very special memories always come from that day.

This year was no exception– I got a lovely bouquet of peonies from our garden, went out to Mexican with my hubby, and ate my favorite kind of cheesecake for dessert.

I wanted to find a way to preserve my memories from each Mother’s Day in a visible way.  I decided to create an altered frame that will allow my photos from Mother’s Day to be on display in my office.  That way I know that each time I see those photos and relive those special memories it will make me smile and remember how awesome my family is.

I found a small frame I had purchased from the dollar store and I gathered some papers and embellishments from the Feelin’ Groovy line.  I think the fun happy colors and patterns of that line embody the happy memories that will be on display in this frame.

First I measured the openings and cropped my photos to fit.  Then I removed the backing of the frame and traced the frame and windows on my patterned paper.

Then I carefully cut out the frame with my precision scissors, and the windows with my craft knife. I adhered the patterned paper to the frame with craft glue, and waited for it to dry completely.

Then I sanded the edges of the frame and openings.  This helps to create a seamless transition between the frame and paper, and to add a little visual interest.

Finally, I added my photos and embellished the frame with stickers and flowers that I cut from patterned paper.

favorite moments frame

Now whenever I see these photos of my wonderful Mother’s Day over the next year I’ll smile.  I look forward to adding next year’s photos!

Supplies needed:

Feelin’ Groovy Patterned Paper
Feelin’ Groovy Chipboard Stickers
Feelin’ Groovy Embossed Stickers
Feelin’ Groovy Notes Tag
Orange Painted Brads
Yellow Painted Brads
Art Knife
Brad Setter and Piercing Tool
Dollar Store Frame

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Remembrance Frame

Leave a Reply

