Layout inspired by Mom

Hey there–Aly Dosdall here again from the design team.  Of course, with Mother’s Day being this past weekend I’ve been thinking a lot about my own wonderful mom.  She’s a beautiful person, inside and out.  She is caring and compassionate, smart and determined, and I am blessed to be her daughter. She is also totally cool and has great personal style.  Check her out in this photo from grad school at Berkley in the late 60’s.  How cool is she?

Other than my dad and her dog, Peppy, my mom’s favorite thing back then was her blue convertible Karmann Ghia.  I can totally see her cruising the Pacific Coast Highway with the top down!  My mom has always had a love for fashion, color, and bold prints.  She never leaves the house without the perfect accessories, but always maintains an understated elegance.  She is well-organized and plans ahead. So…being the scrapbooker I am, I thought it would be fun to create a layout inspired by my mom’s personality and style.  While my mom is not the subject of the layout below, almost every part of it is inspired by her in some way.

I used a clean white cardstock background with bits of bold, colorful patterned paper (from the Feelin’ Groovy collection), inspired by her understated elegance and her love for bold colors and patterns.  I placed paper strips of uniform size in neat columns to represent her penchant for organization and planning.  The column of brads and carefully placed accents remind me of her love of accessories, and that aqua punch buggy calls to mind her beloved blue Karmann Ghia.

Next time you sit down to create a scrapbook page why not try creating one inspired by your mom, or another woman in your life whom you admire.  Jot down some notes about their personal taste, style, personality, or how they’ve influenced you and go from there.  Have fun, and post a link in the comments below if you give this challenge a try!

One thought on “Layout inspired by Mom

  1. My Aunt Bev would be the person I think of when I do make cards or scrapbooks. She is very creative and artistic. When I got married – asked her to make my wedding cake – she had never done one – I was beautiful Cousngs had her doing cakes for 25 yrs. My parents 50th was her last cake decorating. She is in her 80s and still scapbooking and making cards. Saved every card she ever sent me.

Leave a Reply

