Learn New Ways to use Washi Tape

One of my go-to products for scrapbooking and papercrafting lately is washi.  Anything washi will do–tape or sheets.  Washi is so convenient and easy to use.  It’s self-adhesive, super flexible, easy to cut or tear, and semi-transparent so it layers beautifully.  There are so many fun ways to use washi tape.  Check out a few ideas on some of my recent projects below:

I create a ruffled washi tape border for this card in no time.  Using the grid lines as my guide I folded and adhered two rows of tape down the side of the card, making sure they were slightly less than the aqua tape’s width apart.

Then I placed a piece of aqua tape down the center so that the edges were slightly overlapping the ruffles to hold them in place.

Another fun way to use washi tape is to create banners.  Check out the mini banners on my layout below:

To make your own washi tape banners simply trim a length of twine, fold pieces of washi tape over the twine, and cut “v” shapes in the ends of the tape.  Using various colors, widths, and patterns of washi tape adds visual interest.

Washi sheets are no less fun to use than the tape, and are just as easy.  One of my favorite ways to use washi sheets is to cut shapes from them with my Cricut machine.  Take a look at this fun Halloween project I made last year to decorate my front porch.

First I trimmed 12 inch long pieces of orange washi sheets to fit the height of my jars.  Then I used my Cricut machine to cut shapes out of the orange washi sheets and wrapped the negative leftovers around the jars.  I added some black and orange baker’s twine and metal charms from the Black Widow collection to the top of the jars.  I’m saving the shapes to use on another project next fall.

For a tutorial on how to cut washi sheets with a Cricut machine, visit my blog HERE.  I hope these ideas inspire you to get out your washi and have fun!


Card and layout supplies:

Yellow, Aqua and Green Washi Tape

For the Record Paper Pack

Black and Yellow Baker’s Twine

Black Brads

Crafter’s Stapler

Brad Setter and Piercing Tool

Halloween Votive Jars supplies:

Orange Washi Sheet

Black and Orange Baker’s Twine

Black Widow Metal Charms

Other: canning jars, Cricut machine

7 thoughts on “Learn New Ways to use Washi Tape

  1. Pingback: Washi Tape Planner | We R Memory Keepers Blog

  2. Pingback: Oh, Hello Mr. Postman {Week 3} | Sincerely, Moi.

  3. Those are incredible ideas that make me bounce my head off the desk and think “why didn’t i think of that?” so simple and yet so creative. Thanks for the ideas….spurred my brain into thinking of using these ideas for my own creations…thanks again.

Leave a Reply

