Guest Designer Jen McDermott


Hi. My name is Jen McDermott. I’m so excited to be featured today as We R Memory Keepers’ Guest Designer. When I saw the fun colors and patterns in the Happy Camper collection, I knew I wanted to make something fun for my boys who love to camp and take nature walks with their dad.  When I saw the awesome cards on the Hiking Guide paper I got the idea to make a little notebook for my sons to take with them when camping, so they can draw the fun things they see along the way, and even play little games around the campfire.


First, I cut a sheet of Designer Book Board into 2 4″x7″ rectangles, and cut 4 4″x7″ rectangles of Happy Camper patterned paper to cover the front and back of my book board.  I also cut several 4″x7″ rectangles of cardstock to use as the filler for my notebook.


Next, I adhered the patterned paper to the front and back of the book board, and cut and adhered a couple of the 4″x6″ activity cards from the Hiking Guide paper onto my cardstock filler sheets.


I grabbed some paper scraps, the Layered Chipboard Stickers, and a die cut, and decorated the cover of my notebook, using some brown ink to distress the edges.  Then assembled the cover, filler sheets and back of the notebook.  I left several blank pieces of cardstock in the notebook so my boys could draw pictures or notes on them.



Lastly, I bound it all together using my Cinch and some 1″ Bark Spiral Binding Wire.


I absolutely love how the little notebook turned out–so rugged and cute!  I can’t wait to see all of the little pictures my happy campers will draw in it!

Check out my blog to see the additional layout and “S’more Treat Box” that I created with the Happy Campers collection.

Thanks for taking a look.


3 thoughts on “Guest Designer Jen McDermott

  1. I like how you created some pages that are blank and some using the cards from the paper! I believe in not having a fill-in-the-blank kind of life, but it’s good to have a few of those in case someone uses the “b” word (bored)! Thanks so much for sharing your awesome project!!!

Leave a Reply

