Lighted Jar Display


Hello scrappy friends, this is Michelle McClure here today working with the new Country Livin’ collection. When I saw the fun embossed frames with the sentiment, “We’ll leave the Light on”, I thought it would make a great label for a jar full of fire flies. Being a city girl, I was always fascinated by that concept. I took a Mason jar from my kitchen cabinet and decorated the front of the jar with the Light On frame. On top of that, I adhered three rolled flowers and two leaves I hand cut from the patterned papers. I cut four fire flies on my Silhouette Cameo and added some glitter glue on the wings. I popped one on the frame. Around the lid of the jar I adhered some crocheted lace which adds the perfect country touch.



For the inside of the jar, I was originally going to attach three of the paper pieced fire flies to some thin craft wire and dangle them from the lid. I’ll call this version one. When I told my hubby my idea, he immediately said he could make the fire flies light up so I took him up on his offer. I’ll call this version two. He took some small LED lights, electrical wire, battery holder and a push button which purchased from Radio Shack and soldered them together. You can literally turn the fire flies on and off with the push of a button.


This project isn’t mean to be viewed by the harsh light of day, but by the heavenly shades of night when it’s twilight time. The city girl now has her own fire flies in a jar.


We R Memory Keepers Country Livin‘ – patterned papers, cardstock, embossed frame

We R Memory Keepers Down the Boardwalk – crochet lace ribbon

Other – jar, die cut machine, craft wire, glitter

Add on supplies:

5mm LED lights, electrical wire, battery holder, push button, soldering iron, solder

8 thoughts on “Lighted Jar Display

  1. Michelle I love this light. What a great idea and the added lights give the whole thing that perfect atmosphere for a cozy night in or a nice summer night out.
    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

