Barbeque Invite and Decor

Backyard BBQs are one of my family’s favorite summer traditions.  The new Country Livin‘ collection lends itself perfectly to backyard BBQ projects, so I couldn’t resist creating a fun BBQ set complete with invite and decor.   Take a look:

I created the pocket invite by popping out the inside of the Country Livin’ Journaling embossed frame and writing the event details.  Then I created and embellished a pocket to house the invite.  Don’t you just love that little piggy?

Next, I decorated some empty mason jars.  I love mason jars!  I save and wash my pickle jars, spaghetti sauce jars, and jam/jelly jars.  My family thinks I’m crazy, LOL!  I created one to use as a cutlery holder…

…and another one to be a centerpiece, filled with dried pinto beans and some fun summer picks.  On both jars I used washi tape.  It works great for round surfaces because it’s so flexible and pliable.  I also used baker’s twine because it fits perfectly with the homespun feel of the Country Livin’ collection.

The picks were easily made using the magnetic circle cutter, a scalloped circle punch, and bamboo skewers. A cardstock circle hides the skewer end on the back.

Designer tip: when working with a round or curved canvas (like jars) hot glue your paper and embellishments to the surface.  It’s the best adhesive I’ve found to keep those items secure.  Other adhesives will eventually fail and the items will peel away and/or fall off.

I hope these projects have inspired your summer crafting!  Enjoy and creative cheers!


Supplies used:

Country Livin’ Paper Pack

Washi Tape–Aqua and Brown

Baker’s Twine–Aqua and Brown

Magnetic Circle Cutter II

2 thoughts on “Barbeque Invite and Decor

Leave a Reply

