Guest Designer Deborah Johnson


Hi everyone! My name is Deborah Johnson and I’m so excited to be guest designing for We R Memory Keepers today. The gals over at We R Memory Keepers sent me a sample of their “Storytime” Collection and I’m thrilled to share with you what I’ve created.  I simply could not wait to get my scissors, glue and photos out especially when I pulled out the “Jack” paper.  The clouds and castle in the background were perfect for my girl who was photographed in her volleyball jersey.  The colors of this collection are so perfectly matched which makes it easy to coordinate a layout.

I really wanted to keep my focus on that cute smiling volleyball player while also highlighting the castle in the distance.  I don’t know too many girls who would pass up a chance as an aspiring princess which is certainly true for my girlie.  She was on cloud nine when she hit her first serve over the net!

Here’s the full 12″ x 12″ layout.  I cut down the “Jack” paper to 11″ x 11″ so that I could distress the edges and then stitch it onto my background.  I don’t have a fancy distressing tool so I just use my kraft knife (carefully!)


I cut a piece of “Hansel”, inked the edges and then placed my photo over it.  I punched triangles out of the coordinating paper “Hansel” and then overlapped them to point the way to her sweet smile.  Then, I added a cute arrow paperclip accent piece from Stampin’ Up!

Looking closer, the cute title “You’re Juuust Right” is adhered with dimensional tape – that’s also how I adhered the “Your Majesty” and pumpkin banners in the lower left-hand corner.

 I did a bit of layering both under the photo and on top of the photo.  Here you can see a sweet humming bird hovering above rosettes that I created.  To make the rosettes, I use a 1″ circle punch, then cut a spiral into the paper and very carefully roll the paper onto itself and finish it off with glue and adhere with a glue dot.  The banner strips here are from “Frog Prince” and are just delightful!!

Adding just the right amount of sparkle for an aspiring princess, the self-adhering rhinestone trim is from Webster’s Pages was perfect!



Materials used:  Cardstock, “Jack”, “Hansel”, ink, kraft knife, sewing machine, coordinating embellishments, paperclip from Stampin’ Up! and beaded trim from Webster’s Pages.

That’s it!  I do hope that you are itching to get some of this line (or ALL of it!)

Have a terrific, scrappy-happy day!

Check out my blog to see additional projects using the “Storytime” Collection”

I couldn’t help it…here is a sneak peek of what you will see there.


6 thoughts on “Guest Designer Deborah Johnson

Leave a Reply

