Back to School Layout

It’s that time of year again when my kids start a new grade of school and have to get to pose for back-to-school photos.  For me that means scrapbooking those photos, and the Albums Made Easy journaling cards sure made that task go much quicker for me this year.

I love that each We R collection now has journaling cards that coordinate.  I grabbed my Chalkboard patterned paper, and the new Chalkboard journaling cards and came up with this layout in no time.

I punched out my photos with the new 3×4 rounded corner punch to match the shape of the cards I included on my page.  Then I cut several Chalkboard 3×4 journaling cards in half and layered them behind my photos and near my title.

I included some hidden journaling behind my photos on a 3×4 journaling card.  Punching notches in the pocket with the new Thumb Notch Punch makes it easy to pull out and read.

I printed my journaling with my computer by scanning the card, opening it in Photoshop and adding it as a new layer on an 8 1/2 x 11 canvas.  Then I added my text as a new layer over the card layer.  I printed that on an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of scrap paper and then taped the journaling card with masking tape directly over the printed image of the journaling card and text.  After hiding the card layer, I printed the text layer on the card by simply running the 8 1/2 x 11 sheet with the card taped to it through my printer.

I love how this page turned out with these journaling cards.  Having journaling cards that coordinate with the 12×12 papers made it easy to create this layout.  I seem to keep finding ways to use these cute handy cards, so watch for some more posts with fun ideas soon!


Supplies used:

Chalkboard Paper Pack

Chalkboard Albums Made Easy Card Set

3×4 Card Punch (rounded corners)

Thumb Notch Punch

Leave a Reply

