Guest Designer Shannon


Hi, my name is Shannon Morgan, I’m very excited to be guesting for We R Memory Keepers! Better yet, I’m excited to be designing with the Bewitched Collection! Fall is my favorite time of year and being born two days before Halloween, this collection couldn’t come fast enough to my doorstep! I can be found scrapping pretty much daily. I am lucky enough to be a stay at home Momma of two great kiddos Paddy and Mack, thank you to my great, caring husband Karl. I have two crazy dogs who are my constant companions. I have been scrapping since Paddy was born, and the rest is history. I am always working on something and I truly enjoy being able to share my work with others and hopefully inspire them in the process! You can find me at my blog

To create this card, I first misted a card stock base. I used the Happy Halloween tag from the WRMK Bewitched Collection. I distressed the edges and set aside.  (I distress the edges of everything, you can achieve this by dragging your fingernail alongside the edges. If that doesn’t appeal to you, you can always scrape the edges with your open scissors as well.) I then cut a strip of Trick or Treat. I eyeballed this. I had a scrap of vellum that I placed on top of it. I cut a block of Poison and distressed the edges.  Using the 3X4 punch, I punched out Spooky. I then layered them onto the card stock base as shown. Using the 3X4 punch you can make the tag up top. The punch has perfect rounded corners. Punch out a 3X4 and trim an edge off. Use a 1/8 inch hole punch and punch two holes as shown. Thread some twine through and tie a bow. Adhere to the front of the card. Using the embossed stickers, cut three “squares” out from the row of dots. Use a foam dot and stick “randomly” on the card. Add a few gemstones. You can now use, mists, paints and Stickles if desired to add some grungy detail. 
To create this card I misted a card stock base. I like to layer, it’s like an illness. I cut a rectangle of black card stock, eyeball this) and a rectangle of Poison. I tear the edge off the bottom. I distress the edges and layered them as shown. I adhered the layers to the front of the card stock base. Using the Halloween paper..cut along the border. Cut four strips, you will need two equal vertical strips and two equal horizontal strip. Adhere the vertical strips first. Using foam dots, place the horizontal strips on top of the vertical as shown above. Use 4 self adhesive gem stones to make the strips appear as if they are fastened. Using foam dots, place them on the back of the stars from the embossed stickers sheet and adhere to the card front. If desired you can add paint splotches and Stickles for extra grunginess. 
 trick or treat
I could probably join a 12 step program for misting….as always step 1: Mist the front of your card stock base. This card is all about layering. I started with stickers. I like to use stickers as a great layer base,  it’s subtle, but they stand out in just the right amount. After adding the stickers, tear off a few strips of washi tapes and adhere to the front of the card in the corners. Use your 3X4 punch and punch out a vellum punch. Place the vellum up against the polka dot side of Spooky and eyeball a border. Use a scrap from the Poison paper from your earlier card and using  a stapler, staple to the vellum/Spooky rectangle. Adhere this bunch of layers to the card. Using the 3X4 punch you can make the tag up top. The punch has perfect rounded corners. Punch out a 3X4 and trim an edge off. Use a 1/8 inch hole punch and punch two holes as shown. Thread some twine through and tie a knot. Leave the ends long and let them fall as natural. Adhere to the card, tucking under the vellum. Using a heart punch, cut a relief out of a scrap of Poison and tear one edge off for a grungy effect. Using the collection label from Bewitched, add it to the relief as shown. Add a jewel at the top as shown. Staple it to the card front. Add Frankenstein to the corner. Fussy cut the Trick or Treat letters from the embossed stickers, add a foam dot to the back of each one and adhere to the front of the card. Cut three lengths of orange twine and arrange in a way so it looks like a banner. Add the moon and star above. Add Stickles and paint splotches if desired.
Spray mist on the card stock. This is a great way to use up the last bits of you collection. I literally layered pieces from the collection. There were no real measurements to this layout. I layered starting at the top and worked my way down.  I added stickers after I felt I had perfect placement on the layers. After the stickers, I added the splotches and Stickles.
I started out with a bare chipboard album. I added paint and mist to it, giving it a distressed, grungy look. Once dried, I added the base layer of stickers. I then began building my layers. I used a bunch of patterns from the Bewitched collection. I cut out a moon on white card stock and misted it. You can find great patterns online. I used a bat and ghost pattern, traced them and cut them out. I set them aside and added the Halloween/Numbers to the bottom of the binder front. Using the 3×4 punch I created a relief for my ghost to sit in. Add the moon first as shown, layering the bat on top. Lightly tack your ghost to the relief and then flip over. Add foam dots to your ghost and window and then adhere to the front of the binder. You can now add some fun embellishments to the front of the binder front, like the Happy Halloween pennant, stars, spider, striped corner and extra twine. Use foam dots to add dimension. Tie twine around the bottom of the window. Add the pennant banner at the top using foam dots. Add paint splotches.

7 thoughts on “Guest Designer Shannon

Leave a Reply

