Fall Wreath


Hello there!  I’m Julie Koets and I’m from Elkhart, Indiana.  I’ve been scrapbooking for over 10 years and I’m excited to be featured today as We R’s guest designer.  I was especially thrilled to learn that I would get to work with the new Harvest collection!  Fall is my favorite season….I just love watching my boys play football, sitting round a bonfire, picking apples, snuggling up in my favorite sweatshirt, and decorating my home with the warm colors of fall.  The Harvest collection is full of rich, warm colors that pair perfectly with burlap, so I decided to create a fun fall wreath to welcome in the season.  I love that these papers are rich and warm, but they don’t necessarily “scream” fall, so I can use this wreath year-round!


To make this simple wreath, I started with a 12″ styrofoam wreath form and wrapped it with three yards of 2.5 inch burlap ribbon.  I secured the ends of the ribbon using floral picks, but a glue gun would also do the trick.  I decorated my wreath using accordion fold flowers.  The papers I used for the flowers were Typeset, Autumn Sprig, Pressed Flowers, and Garden Shed.  The double sided papers were so beautiful that I had a hard time choosing which “side” I wanted to feature!


To make the accordion flowers, I cut various strips of paper  that were 1.5″, 1″ and 3/4″ wide and 12 inches long.  Score the paper strips every 1/4″ and fold into an accordion shape.  I adhered the ends of each strip together to form a circle and then pushed down the centers to form the flower shape.  Carefully place the folded flower onto a 1″ circle with a dollop of hot glue in the center of it.  Hold the flower for a minute as the glue dries and then add a button or brad to the center of the flower.  Make as many accordion flowers as you wish and carefully adhere them to your ribbon covered wreath using more hot glue.


I finished off my wreath by die cutting a banner and mat using Garden Shed and Pressed Flowers papers.  I used the chipboard alphabet with it’s fun and subtle chevron pattern to add my “WELCOME” greeting.

I had so much fun with this collection and can’t wait to enjoy my favorite season!  Thanks to WRMK for the chance to work with a beautiful product.  Be sure to stop by my blog Crafty Goodness http://jkkoets.blogspot.com/ to see the fall layout and card that I made with more goodies from the Harvest collection!  Happy crafting



3 thoughts on “Fall Wreath

  1. If you think I’m stupid enough to order from you you have a screw loose. I ordered & paid for an item in June & you have yet to send or refund. Order # 5021427. Your thief’s! You have no shame

Leave a Reply

