Quick Card Ideas

_MG_9432 copy

Hey there. It’s Rebecca Fellows. I wanted to share some quick card ideas for the Christmas season. The Holiday season is upon us and if you’re anything like me, you’re already busy making a list and checking it twice.  Making Christmas cards is usually on my list. Here are my go-to tips whenever I mass produce my Christmas cards:

1- Start with an idea.  For me, that usually involves some type of sketch or photo.  Today, I jotted down a sketch that had been floating around in my head.  sketch photo

But don’t feel like you have to come up with something totally unique.  My sketch is definitely something I’ve seen lots of places.  Check out idea books, images on the web, and here on the We R blog for fun ideas….that’s what they’re there for!

2- Keep it simple.  While I love making Christmas cards, for me the holidays are about being with loved ones, so I want each card to only take a matter of minutes to complete so I can get back to sipping hot cocoa and watching favorite holiday movies with my family in front of the fire._MG_9440 copy

3- Pick up a 6×6 pad of paper you love.  For my cards today, I’m using the 6×6 pad from the awesome North Pole collection. When you use papers from a 6×6 pad, you are pretty guaranteed that all the patterns and colors will coordinate, so no matter the combination you use, you’re sure to have a beautiful result.  Plus, the patterns in 6×6 pads are scaled down so they are perfect for cards.

4- Keep bulk and embellishments to a minimum.  This is a great way to speed things up when you are doing a lot of cards at once and it definitely will keep mailing costs down.

5- Make your cards in assembly line fashion.  Punch or die cut all your shapes first, then cut each length of ribbon, then cut your panels for each card to size.  Assemble your cards in the same way.  This way you have a smooth and quick card-making operation.  _MG_9436 copy

This first card I made above took about 15 minutes from start to finish.

But what if you don’t have even that much time between choir concerts and White Elephant gift exchanges?  Alter your sketch a little.  In this next card, I used the same basic sketch, but eliminated a couple of steps.  It took me 8 minutes to complete._MG_9435 copy

I hope my tried and true tips help streamline your card-making process this year!   Have fun and Happy Holidays!_MG_9439 copy

One thought on “Quick Card Ideas

Leave a Reply

