Holiday Card Storage Binder

Each year, I look forward to the day that the holiday cards start to arrive. It’s fun to see how kids have grown and families have changed from year to year. It always makes me wish I’d saved the cards from the previous year so I can look back on them. So this year, I created a way to store several years’ worth of holiday cards in a convenient binder.

_MG_9441 copy_FB

I chose a chipboard binder for its size and sturdiness. This one is 7″ x 9″ and is a perfect size for holding cards up to 5″ x 7″ in size.

To keep it simple, I trimmed patterned paper from the North Pole collection to cover most of the front and back of the binder, but I left the spine raw so that it would open and close easily. I used a strip of Chevron Washi Tape (in Tomato) to cover the seam and add a fun pop of color. I finished it off with an embossed tag and a few sequins for a little holiday sparkle.

For the inside, I created dividers from coordinating papers in the North Pole collection and used my Bracket Tab Punch to create tabs for five separate years of card storage. My section dividers are trimmed to 5 7/8″ x 8 1/4″, but the size of yours will depend on your binder. Just be sure to leave about ½” of clearance on the long side to account for the tab.

On each divider, I added a 1½” strip of coordinating patterned paper to reinforce the strength of the area where I’d be punching the holes. Again, I added the Chevron Washi Tape to cover the seam and add a bit of punch.

Originally, my idea was to just punch holes in all the holiday cards I receive and insert them into the binder. But then I thought I might want another option for smaller photo cards that I can’t bear to punch holes into. So I took so  me large glassine bags and created pockets for each section of my binder. I used patterned paper (two strips back to back) to create a strip that I could punch holes into without going through the pocket and trimmed with another strip of Chevron Washi Tape for consistency.

_MG_9443 copy_FB

Now I’m even more excited for the first holiday cards to roll into my mailbox. How about you? How will you store your holiday cards this year?


Robyn Schaub


One thought on “Holiday Card Storage Binder

  1. I love your binder. I would really love a picture of one of your inside pages, I’m better with visual for understanding instructions😀
    Merry Xmas

Leave a Reply

