Earth Day Project

Happy Earth Day! Today I’ve got a project to share with you using some material I “upcycled” to use for crafting. Sometimes I like to save packaging (plastic and cardboard) to use in my crafts. It has come in handy several times over the years. This time I saved an 8×8 sheet of corrugated cardboard and it was the perfect bit of recyclable material to use for this Earth Day project. Check out what I made with it below:

We R Potted Herb Labels by Aly Dosdall

To create these Potted Herb Labels I cut the corrugated cardboard using the new Home Made Nesting Dies. The cardboard cut perfectly with 3-4 passes through my Evolution.

cut cardboard

Then I embellished the cardboard labels using some pinwheels I cut from Hip Hip Hooray patterned paper using the new Pinwheel Shape Die. (I left the larger pieces out to better fit with the scale of the project.) I finished off the labels by adding the names of each herb on a banner flag with mini alpha stickers. The labels attach to the indoor potted herbs using some jute gardening twine.

We R Potted Herb Labels by Aly Dosdall close

How are you celebrating Earth Day today? Do you like to create crafts using recyclable materials?

~Aly

Supplies:

Pinwheel Shape Die
Home Made Nesting Dies
Banner Flag Die (from Drink Sleeve Template Die)
Evolution
Farmer’s Market Page Kit–Alpha Stickers
Hip Hip Hooray 6×6 Paper Pad
Brads–Green, Aqua, Yellow

Leave a Reply

