Blast From the Past [Old + New Mini Book]

I love to collect scrapbook goodies, and I have a growing stash that I sometimes forget to use. Probably because I’m so excited to use the new stuff I buy. =) So I love it when I can combine some of my older stash with my new goodies on a project. Check out how I did that with my “currently” mini book below.

We R Currently Mini Book by Aly Dosdall

For this project I used the new Archived Albums Made Easy journaling cards by Teresa Collins, and I dug into my stash of older eyelets I got in a kit with my Crop-A-Dile Big Bite a few years ago. I’ve got so many eyelets that it makes me giddy when I get to use some up! I used my eyelets as binders for my mini book. Let me show you how.

To create this mini book I started out by trimming five 3 1/4″ x 4 3/4″ pieces of kraft cardstock. Then I scored each piece at 1/2″ using my Trim and Score Board. Since this mini book will be bound at the top, the score lines allow the pages to flip up easily.

We R Currently Mini Book_trim and score

I added my photos and 3×4 journaling cards to the front and back of the pages, placing them carefully so the elements on the back of the pages are right side up when the pages are flipped upward. I added some journaling and simple embellishments–washi tape, baker’s twine, enamel shapes, and a few embossed stickers.

To bind the pages I used a ruler and pencil to measure and mark where I wanted my eyelets to be and then punched the holes with my Crop-A-Dile. I used the cover as a template to mark where I needed to punch holes on the remaining pages. After punching them I gathered all the pages, lined up the holes, and placed the eyelets in them one at a time, setting them with my Crop-A-Dile.

We R Currently Mini Book_eyelets

The eyelets fit perfectly through the 5 pieces of cardstock to hold the book together. I threaded some twine through the holes to complete the album. Take a look at the inside pages. My photos and journaling tell the story of some of my current favorites.

We R Currently Mini Book by Aly Dosdall 1 We R Currently Mini Book by Aly Dosdall 2 We R Currently Mini Book by Aly Dosdall 3

Try challenging yourself to use some older product from your stash on your next project. Be sure to link us up, we’d love to see how you combine your old and new!



Archived Albums Made Easy Journaling Cards
Black Eyelets
Crop-A-Dile II
Trim and Score Board
Washi Tape–Onyx, Butter
Enamel Shapes–Cool, Warm, Neutral
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine–Black
Notable Embossed Stickers

6 thoughts on “Blast From the Past [Old + New Mini Book]

Leave a Reply

