Mother’s Day Frame Idea

I always like to give the mama’s in our life something special on Mother’s Day. This year, I decided to put to use some of the Inked Rose scraps I have been hoarding, and make a fun, bright, layered, frame.

I started by cutting  3×3 squares from some of my favorite papers. For the bottom left square, I fussy cut and layered some of the frames out of the “Frames” paper. I then wrapped and tied twine around it to give some fun texture. Finally, I fussy cut a butterfly from the “Butterflies” paper, adhered it with foam dots, one layer in the middle, and doubling them up on the wings, for even more dimension. An enamel heart in the center was the perfect finishing touch.

mothers day4

I had a group photo that I wanted to be the focal point, of this square. So this one was kept very simple with just some fun layers from scraps and AME journaling cards.

For the final square, I fussy cut another frame out of the “Frames” paper. Then using the Sew Easy “Flourish” template, I stitched a banner across the middle. Layering this on the b side of the “butterflies” paper using foam dots, really made this embellishment pop!

mothers day2

For the larger section on top, I wanted to use the “Words” paper as a background, after cutting it to size, I distressed the edges to give it dimension. Using a strong liquid adhesive, I adhered clothes pins along the sides of my frame, so that I could hang a fun banner across that would allow me to add in more photos, and still let that fun “Words” paper show!

mothers day3

For each banner piece, I randomly cut the remaining scraps I had into varying sizes, and layered them together until I found a look that was pleasing to my eye. By adding in more frames, and using some of the negative stickers from the embossed sticker sheets, I was able to add even more interest into my layers. Adding in some twine, and enamel dots, my frame was finished, and made for the perfect fun and bright Mother’s Day gift.

mothers day


Supply List:

Patterned Papers: Inked Rose

Stickers: Inked Rose

Enamel Dots Neutral

Enamel Shapes Cool

Sew Easy Template Flourish

Bakers Twine Aqua

Sew Easy Floss Pink

Sew Easy Neutral (Variegated)


Amanda Johnson

One thought on “Mother’s Day Frame Idea

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: Mother’s Day Round Up | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

