Letterpress Recipe Card Gift Set

We R Recipe Card Gift Set by Aly Dosdall 1

To finish off this exciting week celebrating the new Evolution Advanced launch on HSN, here’s a great handmade gift idea that you can create with it–a recipe card gift set.

We R Recipe Card Gift Set by Aly Dosdall 2

To create this project, I started by die cutting several recipe cards from 12×12 letterpress paper using the Homemade Nesting Dies.

Recipe Card Gift Set 1

Using the letterpress platform, it was easy to create multiple recipe cards by simply switching out the paper, re-inking the plate, and running the platform through the machine again.

Recipe Card Gift Set 2

I used the category printing plates from the Homemade Printing Plate set to indicate whether the recipe was a dessert or an entrée. I left a few cards blank so the recipient can fill in their own favorite recipes.

Recipe Card Gift Set 3

For the gift box I upcycled the packaging from a letterpress printing plate set, trimmed off the hanging tab, and covered the box with patterned paper and a letterpress label. To emboss the 12 inch border strip I first ran the strip through the Evolution with the 6″ embossing folder on one side, then I ran it through again with the embossing folder on the other side of the strip.

Recipe Card Gift Set 4

To create a distressed look I lightly sanded the embossed design on the paper strip.

Recipe Card Gift Set 5

Once I finished decorating the box, I added a small strip of adhesive back velcro to help keep the top closed. I also letterpressed a label for the gift box and added it with Sew Easy Baker’s Twine.

I hope this gift idea inspired you. Have a great weekend, and happy crafting!



Evolution Advanced
L Letterpress
12×12 White Letterpress Paper
Teal Green Ink
Homemade Printing Plates
Homemade Nesting Dies
Butterfly Embossing Folders
Raindrop 2 Edge Punch
Inked Rose Paper Pack
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine–Yellow, Aqua, Pink



3 thoughts on “Letterpress Recipe Card Gift Set

  1. What a neat idea! I am so excited to get my Evolution! I have been wanting to try letterpressing, and I couldn’t pass us the great deal on HSN on the awesome deal on the fantastic new tool with all of those great accessories!🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Great idea and looks wonderful. Waiting not so patiently for my HSN Evolution … very excited to try letterpressing.

  3. I absolutely love this idea and will definitely be using this as a gift! I am soo happy I picked up the New Evolution Bundle on the HSN launch!! It was such a phenomenal deal, I cannot wait to try it out!! ♡

Leave a Reply

