Washi Tape Wall Art

Sometimes I get a little bee in my bonnet and I just feel like freshening up my home decor a bit. This week I had one of those days and decided to use my craft stash to create a fun piece of washi tape wall art inspired by The Crafted Sparrow. I love the pop of color it adds to the room–perfect for the summer months!

Washi Tape Wall Art by Aly Dosdall 1

I used my Cricut machine to cut out some words from a 10 x 13 inch piece of poster board. You can also print letters to use as template and cut them out with a craft knife from poster board or mat board. Be sure to use a nice thick sans serif font. Capital letters work well since they’re all the same height.

Washi Tape Wall Art by Aly Dosdall 2

Then I covered a piece of white cardstock with strips of washi tape in a fun summer color palette. I picked mostly warm colors, and threw in one cool sea foam color to balance them out.

Washi Tape Wall Art by Aly Dosdall 3

After trimming the excess tape off the edges with my Large Precision Scissors (since they’re non-stick) I adhered the washi covered cardstock behind the poster board and placed them both into the frame. Letter tip: be sure to save the center of any letters and add them to the washi covered cardstock like I did with my letter “O”.

Washi Tape Wall Art by Aly Dosdall 4

For more in-depth details regarding this project, visit The Crafted Sparrow.



Washi Tape
Large Precision Scissors

3 thoughts on “Washi Tape Wall Art

Leave a Reply

