Washi Tape Frame

School photos are an essential part of each new school year, but my dilemma always is what to do with all the extra prints! It’s fun to have them on display so here’s an easy DIY idea you can make for your own home, or as a gift for grandparents or teachers–a Washi Tape Photo Frame. This frame is about 5 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ and fits either a 3×4 photo or a wallet size photo.

Washi Tape Frame by Aly Dosdall 1

I started with plain small craft sticks I bought at my local craft store. The small crafts sticks are exactly the same width as the smaller rolls of patterned washi tape, so I covered 14 of them with the smaller roll of Sea Foam Washi Tape. I trimmed the excess tape off the ends of the sticks by turning them upside down and cutting it off with my Small Precision Scissors (the washi tape won’t gunk up the non-stick surface).

Washi Tape Frame by Aly Dosdall 2

To hold the sticks together I placed four extra ones across the back and glued them down.  I embellished the photo frame with some Enamel Shapes. You can also add magnets to the back of the frame and display it on a fridge or metal cabinet.

Washi Tape Frame by Aly Dosdall 3

Now you’ll be armed with some ideas when all those photos come home–bring on the new school year!



Washi Tape–Sea Foam
Enamel Shapes
Small Precision Scissors

2 thoughts on “Washi Tape Frame

Leave a Reply

