Birthday Wishes Garland

Recently my daughter turned 14, and if you’re a parent of a teen you know how tricky it can be to plan the perfect birthday celebration for a teen. While making plans a decor idea came to me that also included a fun interactive memory-keeping element. I created a photo pocket garland where guests can write their wishes to the birthday girl on journaling cards.

birthday wishes banner by aly dosdall

First I printed some wallet size photos of my daughter (that was a trick in itself to find photos she was “happy” with). Then I made some 3×4 pockets from Inked Rose papers with my Envelope Punch Board by simply cutting off the top flap of the 3×4 envelopes.

birthday wishes banner 2

I placed the photos on the front of the pockets and embellished them with some washi tape stickers, die cuts, enamel shapes, and baker’s twine. Then I added journaling cards to each pocket for the guests to write on.

birthday wishes banner 1

Finally, I strung some Sew Easy Baker’s Twine up and clipped the photo pockets on with some mini wood clothespins I picked up at my local craft store.

birthday wishes banner 3

The Birthday Wish Garland was a hit with the guests and the birthday girl!



Inked Rose Paper Pack
Envelope Punch Board
Punch Dies–Heart, Circle
Journaling Cards (Captured)
Enamel Shapes–Cool, Warm
Washi Tape–Multi Color Pack
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine–Pink

One thought on “Birthday Wishes Garland

Leave a Reply

