Indian Summer Layout

Today I want to share with you a recent layout I created with the Indian Summer collection and one of my favorite Lucky 8 Punches. This page includes a photo I took after we did a “facelift” to the exterior of our home a couple of years ago. I photographed the whole process and this was the final photo. While this photo was taken as the “after” photo of the home project, on this layout I used it to tell a different story.

Happy Home by Aly Dosdall

Since we moved to our current home and neighborhood over four years ago we have discovered that this is our favorite place to be. Not only do we love our home, but we love our neighbors, our schools, our community, and the beautiful mountains just minutes away. I wanted to tell that story in our album. Remember, you can use photos taken on any occasion to tell a different story about the subject of your photo.

Happy Home 3

I used my Floral Burst Lucky 8 punch to create the mat on my background. I placed the punched feather paper so that the left edge extended over the edge of the background paper and then trimmed the excess. This gives the page an open feel, and the brain automatically fills in the missing edge so that the eye feels comfortable with the design. 

Happy Home 2

To add emphasis to my photo I trimmed several sets of arrows from the Carefree patterned paper and pointed them towards my photo. I also added an arrow between the words in my title to increase focus on my photo. To finish off my page I splattered some tan ink around and added some enamel shapes, my title, and journaling.



Indian Summer Paper Pack
Indian Summer Chipboard Alphas
Indian Summer Journaling Cards
Lucky 8 Punch–Floral Burst
Washi Tape–Butter
Enamel Shapes–Cool

One thought on “Indian Summer Layout

Leave a Reply

