Hello Banner

Do you ever just feel like making something fun to dress up a room even though there’s nothing in particular to celebrate? Well, I did. And here’s what I made–an all-occasion “Hello” banner!

Hello Banner by Aly Dosdall

Since this piece of home decor isn’t tied to a holiday or party of any kind, I picked one of my favorite generic collections–Farmers Market–and focused on the cheery primary colors. I started by cutting out some large pennants using the Pennant Nesting Dies. The die creates two slits for threading twine through to hang the pennants, but I wanted to fold the pennants in half to make them more sturdy. So I folded my 6″x12″ pieces of patterned paper in half, and then placed them on the die so that the fold was just below the top of the pennant die. That way when I die cut them the fold remained intact. 

Hello Banner_cut pennants

To cover the slits I added two strips of Washi Tape at the top of the pennants. I added some chipboard alphas to spell “Hello”, and then I embellished the pennants using some flowers that I made with my Flower Punch Board, some die cut frames, and Enamel Dots. To keep my flowers flat so I could easily add them to this project I didn’t cut off the last petal before assembling them.

Hello Banner by Aly Dosdall 2

It was easy to hang my banner by placing some adhesive in the folds of the pennants and then adding a length of baker’s twine in the crease of the pennants.

Hello Banner by Aly Dosdall 3

Then I hung my garland in my family room for us all to enjoy! It’s pretty details like this that make me smile when I walk into a room. What home decor projects have you created recently?



Farmers Market Paper Pack
Pennant Nesting Dies
Nesting Frames Dies
Flower Punch Board
Enamel Dots
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine
Washi Tape–Multi Color Pack

2 thoughts on “Hello Banner

Leave a Reply

