DIY Pocketed Organizer

This week I’ve shared ideas for displaying and documenting your child’s school papers and artwork. Today I’d like to share an idea for storing and organizing those papers. You can create this DIY Pocketed Organizer with some basic office supplies and your favorite We R papers, embellishments and tools.

Pocket School Organizer by Aly Dosdall

First I gathered some basic supplies to create the organizer–9″x12″ document envelopes, 12″x12″ chipboard, and It Factor patterned papers. Then I trimmed the chipboard down to 9 1/2″ x 12″ and covered it with patterned paper.

photo 3

Next I trimmed off the tops of the envelopes, and then cut an 8″ semi-circle out of the front of each one. To do this, I inserted my cutting mat inside the envelope, and then used my Magnetic Circle Cutter to cut a half-circle. This allows me to see the work and makes it easier to access if I want to remove it from the envelope.

photo 2

Then I cut some 9″x12″ pieces of It Factor patterned paper, placed some adhesive on the back, and inserted them into the pockets to provide more stability and a pop of color.

photo 4

I embellished my organizer with Washi Tape, It Factor Journaling Cards, It Factor Wood Stickers, and It Factor Alpha Block Stickers. Finally, I added some tabs to each pocket using the File Tab Punch and Tab Stickers.

Pocket School Organizer by Aly Dosdall 2

Each pocket is decorated with a similar design and similar products. That makes it quick and easy to assemble the notebook. I bound my Pocket School Organizer with my Cinch tool and Spiral Binding. Here are the inside pockets. I divided them according to the work that my daughter brings home from preschool (painting, worksheets, writing, art projects, and doodles).

Pocket School Organizer by Aly Dosdall 3

Pocket School Organizer by Aly Dosdall_collage

You could create a pocketed organizer like this one for any papers you’d like to keep organized–bills, mail, documents, etc. You could make a smaller one for receipts or coupons as well.



It Factor Paper Pad
It Factor Alpha Block Stickers
It Factor Wood Stickers
It Factor Journaling Cards
Washi Tape–Onyx, Butter, Sea Foam
The Cinch
12″x12″ Chipboard
Spiral Binding–1″ Clover
File Tab Punch
Tab Stickers
Magnetic Circle Cutter and Mat

3 thoughts on “DIY Pocketed Organizer

  1. Where do I get the Post for the Stackable Washi dispenser? I bought a dispenser then realized I need another one, but the box says the post is sold separately & I know the store I bought it from didn’t have any nor can I find it on your website. Help please. I also called & left you guys a message on this.

Leave a Reply

