Fall Layout

The leaves in the nearby mountains are already turning fall colors, and pretty soon they’ll start turning down here–that is one of my favorite times of the year. I love the beautiful fall leaves and colors (not so much the raking part) and was so glad I captured that in this photo that I scrapbooked recently. My most favorite part about this photo is that my daughter and her aunt are playing baseball together and enjoying the fall weather, but my next favorite part is that the yard is covered in yummy fall yellow leaves!

Fall Ball by Aly Dosdall


I decided that I wanted to replicate the carpet of leaves in the photo on my page background, so I die cut several leaves using the Maple Leaves Nesting Dies, the Leaves Punch Dies, and my electronic die cutting machine to create a lovely fall backdrop. I scattered them around my white-washed fence background paper, mixing the sizes and styles of leaves.

Fall Ball by Aly Dosdall_close


Fall is the perfect excuse to add lots of fun texture to projects, so I used my Sew Easy tool to add some hand stitching to the die cut leaves. I simply rolled the Sew Easy with the straight stitch head through the center of my leaves to create a vein look. Then I hand stitched a basic back stitch through the holes with double strands of white floss.

fall leaves stitching

Designer tip: I use a small piece of scotch tape on the back of my paper to secure my stitching.

fall leaves tape back

Try creating your own fall backdrop and including it on a fall craft project. Be sure to post a link to your fall projects in the comments below.



Indian Summer Paper Pack
Indian Summer Chipboard Alphabet Stickers
Maple Leaves Nesting Dies
Leaves Punch Dies
Lollipop Alphabet Die
File Tab Punch
Sew Easy
Enamel Shapes–Cool

2 thoughts on “Fall Layout

Leave a Reply

