Owl Pillow Boxes

When I think of fall images of beautifully colored leaves are what first come to mind, but another fun fall icon that I love is owls. They’re darling on fall projects of all kinds. I was inspired by this festive critter to create some owl pillow boxes for fall. Take a peek!

Owl Pillow Boxes by Aly Dosdall

I used my Pillow Box Punch board to create the box, trimming my Notable kraft paper to 6×6 inches before punching it out. Then, to create the owl’s belly I cut a 2 1/2 x 4 3/4 inch piece of orange polka Notable paper and scored the bottom along the curve score line on the punch board.

owl pillow boxes_score belly

owl pillow boxes_cut wings


Next I cut along the curved score line so that the bottom of the owl’s belly fit the shape of the bottom of the pillow box. I cut some shallow curves out of each side of the belly to form the owl’s wings and then adhered it to the box. To create some feathers for the owl’s belly I punched out several notch shapes with my Thumb Notch Punch and layered them over the orange belly.

owl pillow boxes_punch feathers

Owl Pillow Boxes by Aly Dosdall_close 1

To create the eyes I punched out two circles (1 1/2 & 1 1/4 inches), and added some orange enamel dots in the centers. The beak is a triangle cut from the triangle kraft Notable paper.

Owl Pillow Boxes by Aly Dosdall_close 2

Designer tip: when working with folded and/or curved paper like this project I always use my glue gun to adhere the paper securely.

These treat boxes would make a great fall party favor, back-to-school gift, or neighbor gift. Of course I filled them with another one of my favorite things about fall–candy corn!!

For more project ideas featuring owls, check out THIS blog post with a tutorial for creating an owl gift bag with the Gift Bag Punch Board.

We R Owl Gift Bag by Aly Dosdall



Pillow Box Punch Board
Notable Paper Pack
Thumb Notch Punch
Enamel Dots–Warm

3 thoughts on “Owl Pillow Boxes

  1. Pingback: Fall Project Roundup | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

