Embossed Fall Card

As I’ve mentioned before during my fall project posts this week, this season is the perfect time to include fun texture on your projects. Today I’ve got an easy way to add texture to your fall projects using embossing folders and ink to create a unique letterpress look.

Embossed Fall Card by Aly Dosdall

Embossed Fall Card by Aly Dosdall_close 1

I started by trimming my ivory cardstock to 6×6 inches to fit my 6×6 inch card. Then I applied honey yellow ink to the inside of my embossing folder using a large brayer.

ink folder

I placed my cardstock into the inked embossing folder and ran it through my Evolution. The cardstock was not only embossed, but also took on the ink in the embossing folder pattern. Very cool.

inked embossing

Next I pulled some papers from the Jet Set collection in some of my favorite fall colors–tangerine, orange cream, honey yellow, sky blue, violet, and sea foam. Then I created a maple leaf framed window to highlight the inked embossing pattern and to add a seasonal touch. I used the two largest Maple Leaf Nesting Dies, cutting the smaller leaf first from the orange background paper. Then I cut a small leaf from the purple paper, and then cut the larger leaf from the same paper to create the frame. I used some washi tape to hold the larger leaf die in place on the paper so the frame cut evenly.

cut frame

I glued the frame onto the orange cut out leaf background and then added that to the inked embossed cardstock using foam squares for dimension. To finish off my card I added a few die cut feathers, some embossed stickers, twine, and a mini clothespin.

Embossed Fall Card by Aly Dosdall_close 2

This embossing technique is a fun way to add texture to any project using any type of embossing folder and ink you’d like. Try experimenting with inking different sides of the folder for different results. You can also try spray inks or daubing the ink on the folder to get a more distressed look. Be sure to link us to your inked embossing projects if you give this technique a try!



Jet Set Paper Pack
Jet Set Embossed Stickers
Triangle Embossing Folders
Maple Leaves Nesting Dies
Feather Shape Dies

4 thoughts on “Embossed Fall Card

  1. Pingback: Fall Project Roundup | We R Memory Keepers Blog

  2. I emailed the company about the main squeeze that it did not cut out the dies well at all. Any comments on this. Oh I did not hear back yet and that was last week. i know this is not about the above item but where else can I get an answer from someone?

Leave a Reply

