Folded Leaf Garland

The Trim and Score Board is one of our more versatile tools. Not only can it be used for trimming paper, but the scoring feature opens up a whole new variety of possibilities. Scoring paper on a measuring board is super helpful for dimensional projects such as boxes, bags, envelopes, mini albums, and paper folding of any kind. I love to use the scoring feature of my Trim and Score Board anytime I need to fold paper because it really helps to keep the paper from tearing as it folds. Let me share a great example of that with you!

I’m loving all the folded paper leaves floating around the blog-o-sphere right now. Maybe it’s my inner elementary school student that remembers all the fan folding from back in the day, or maybe it’s the beautiful dimension that results from it, but I just can’t get enough of the accordion folding! Take a look at this Folded Leaf Garland I made using my handy Trim and Score Board, combined with some lovely papers and embellishments from the Autumn Crisp collection by our sister company, American Crafts.

Folded Leaf Garland by Aly Dosdall

Folded Leaf Garland by Aly Dosdall_close 1

Using the trim feature of the board really helped to make uniform folds, helped to make the folding much easier, and helped the creases not to tear as I folded them. It saved my hands quite a bit of work and they are thankful! =)

Folded Leaf Garland by Aly Dosdall_close 2

Folded Leaf Garland by Aly Dosdall_close 4

Let me show you how I created the folded leaves:

11 photo

raindrop leaf collage

For the raindrop shape leaves I simply folded my 12×12 paper in half, and then cut from the bottom corner (closest to the ends, not the crease) to the opposite top corner (closest to the crease) to create a triangle shape. I unfolded the paper and placed it sideways on the Trim and Score board, lining the bottom of the triangle up along the edge of the board. I scored every 1/2″ all the way across, and then fan folded the paper starting at the larger end with a mountain fold first. Once I finished folding the paper I wrapped a 6-7″ length of wire around the center, twisting it tightly to secure it. Then I folded the paper up and adhered the centers together with some hot glue as shown.

maple leaf collage

To create the maple leaf shape I folded my paper in half and then cut from the bottom corner (closest to the ends) up to the top corner (closest to the crease) making peaks and valleys and I went. It helped me to sketch out the path I was going to cut first. Then I followed the same steps as the raindrop leaf shape, scoring, folding, wiring, and gluing the leaf shape as seen above.

Folded Leaf Garland by Aly Dosdall_close 3

Then I embellished the leaves with die cuts, buttons, burlap scraps, and die cut letters to spell “Harvest”. I hung them by the wire “stems” from some coordinating ribbon using large wooden clothespins. This is a great versatile decor piece for fall–it can be hung from September through November. I’d love to experiment with some other shapes to see what other types of leaves I can come up with. Fun project!



Trim and Score Board
Maple Leaves Nesting Dies

3 thoughts on “Folded Leaf Garland

  1. Pingback: Folded Butterfly Garland | We R Memory Keepers Blog

  2. Pingback: Accordion Folded Hearts | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

