Chalkboard Halloween Countdown

Since today is the first day of October, it’s the perfect time to share this festive and handy Halloween Countdown. Halloween is something my kids look forward to every year, and it’s so helpful when my younger ones have a way to keep track of how long they have to wait for the big day (read they don’t keep asking me every 5 minutes).

Halloween Countdown by Aly Dosdall

Halloween Countdown by Aly Dosdall_close 1

I decided rather than having several numbered pieces to keep track of and swap out, I would die cut a label shape from chalkboard vinyl so we could write down the number of days with chalk, and then easily erase them and change them as needed.


I grabbed a fun 5″x7″ frame at the dollar store and then trimmed a piece of black spider web patterned paper to fit. I layered a piece of embossed orange paper over that, and then added a strip of numbered washi tape. Then I embellished my project with some die cut shapes and letters, stickers, and enamel shapes.

Halloween Countdown by Aly Dosdall_close 2

I love how our countdown turned out, and my girls are so excited to keep track of their anxious wait for Halloween!



Nesting Dies–Frame 11
Punches Dies–Bat and Moon
Shape Dies–Branches
Alphabet Dies–Lollipop
Embossing Folders–Polka Dot
Black Widow 6×6 Paper Pad
Black Widow Layered Chipboard Titles
Black Widow Embossed Stickers
Enamel Shapes–Neutral

2 thoughts on “Chalkboard Halloween Countdown

  1. Pingback: Halloween Project Roundup | We R Memory Keepers Blog

  2. After looking into a few oof the blog articles on your web page, I really like your technique of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list aand will be checking
    back in the near future. Take a lok aat my weeb site too
    and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

