Throwback Thursday: Harvest

For today’s Throwback Thursday I decided to pull out one of my favorite collections from 2013–Harvest. I just love the rich colors and distressed vintage feel–perfect for fall! And since this Saturday is World Card Making day, I thought I’d share some card inspiration as well. Take a peek at the card I created with this collection below.

Life Is Good Card by Aly Dosdall

Combining new products with older ones usually helps to update their look, so I refreshed the collection by including a trendy hand stitched sentiment created with the new Sew Easy Templates. Whenever I hand stitch on paper I use a small sharp needle with a small eye–that way I avoid creating over-sized messy stitching holes. I also like to use the needle to follow the template and poke the stitching holes before sewing.

stitch sentiment

When stitching I always use two strands of floss. That seems to be a good balance–not too thick or so thin that you can’t see the stitching. Since there’s only one hole (and you really need two holes to stitch), to dot my “i” I made a french knot. Not sure how to make a french knot? Click here for a great tutorial or just use a brad, eyelet, or enamel shape for your dot.

Life Is Good Card by Aly Dosdall_french knot

Do you like to use older products from your stash when crafting? What’s your favorite older We R Memory Keepers collection? I hope you have a great weekend and that you have a chance to get crafty on World Card Making Day! Creative cheers!



Sew Easy Templates–Script
Sew Easy Floss–Brown
Harvest Paper Pack
Harvest Embossed Stickers

Leave a Reply

