DIY Bat Decor

Our next door neighbors always have the best holiday decorations. In fact, they’re so cool that my kids told me one year, “Mom, we should just put a ‘ditto’ sign in our yard pointing to their house!” So this year when they asked me if we could start decorating for Halloween I started thinking bigger. The first thing we tackled was an idea I’ve seen on Pinterest, in magazines, at my friend’s house, and just about everywhere in between. I love it so much that I couldn’t wait to try it myself.

DIY Bat Decor by Aly Dosdall

To create this DIY Bat Decor I started out by cutting several small and large bat shapes from black glitter paper using the Bats Shape Dies and my Evolution. Then I accordion folded each one along the score lines created by the dies. I love the dimension that the folds in the shapes add, and the glitter paper makes the bats feel more festive.

die cut bats

After I cut them I used some masking tape attached to the under side of the wing ends to adhere the bats to the wall so that I didn’t damage the paint. I arranged the bats so they appear to be exiting their cave and flying off into the night, smaller ones first and larger ones following.

DIY Bat Decor by Aly Dosdall_close 2

DIY Bat Decor by Aly Dosdall_close 1

I have to say my kids were pretty excited when they saw our finished bat decor. They love how the wall turned out. We are definitely getting into the spooky spirit now!

DIY Bat Decor by Aly Dosdall_1

Are you working on any Halloween crafts? If you are please share them on our Facebook page. Be sure to come back tomorrow for some more Halloween ideas!



Bats Shape Dies

Leave a Reply

