One Product, Two Ways: Cut Out Dies

I always love discovering new ways to use my favorite tools. I feel like I’m getting more than my money’s worth, and that makes me giddy.  Recently I happened upon one of those happy moments of discovery, and I’d like to share my happiness with you! Here are two ways you can use our new Cut Outs Dies.

1) Cut-out design

Never Too Old by Aly Dosdall

While the Cut Outs Dies are specifically made to fit a 5 1/2 x 4 1/4 inch card, they also work great for creating cool cut out borders and strips. I die cut five strips of patterned paper from the Shine and Indian Summer collections using the Polka Dot Cut Outs Die. I layered the cut out polka strips behind my photos and on top of several cards that I punched from patterned paper with my 3×4 Card Punch.

Never Too Old by Aly Dosdall close 1

I finished off the layout with some die cut hand-drawn gold metallic stars, gold sequins, and some bats I die cut with the Bat and Moon Punch Dies.

Never Too Old by Aly Dosdall close 2

2) Confetti

After die cutting the strips for my layout, I collected all the leftover circles to create a confetti pocket for a Halloween card.

polka cut out die

I used a 3×4 journaling card from the Shine collection as a base for my confetti pocket, and then trimmed a piece of clear plastic from an old page protector to fit.

Happy Halloween Card by Aly Dosdall

I machine stitched three sides of the pocket, filled it with Halloween confetti (a mix of the die cut circles, gold sequins, and die cut mini bats) and then stitched the fourth side to close the pocket.

Happy Halloween Card by Aly Dosdall_close

I finished off the card with a sentiment, some baker’s twine, sequins, and a die cut bat. Repeating some of the confetti elements outside of the pocket helps to unify the card.

If you’ve got any tips for additional ways to use your favorite We R tools be sure to share them in the comments section below!



Cut Outs Die–Polka Dots
Bat and Moon Punch Dies
Shine 12×12 Paper Pad
Shine 6×6 Paper Pad
Shine Journaling Cards
Indian Summer 12×12 Paper Pad
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine–Black
3×4 Card Punch–Square

3 thoughts on “One Product, Two Ways: Cut Out Dies

    • YouTube on your computer or tv has tutorials you can watch, I have learned how to do many, many crafts and how to use my die cutting machines by watching them. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

