Spider Specimen Art

One of my favorite genres of Halloween DIY decor is the specimen art. Maybe it’s the creepy factor, or just the perfectly lined up rows and columns, but I just love a good piece of specimen art! Here’s a piece I made for Halloween using the Spider Shape Die and some papers from the Shine and Indian Summer collections. Spider Specimen Art by Aly Dosdall I bought a 12 x 12 frame at my local craft store (using some coupons of course), and placed a piece of 12 x 12 cork board in it. Then I layered a piece of 12 x 12 chevron patterned paper from the Indian Summer collection over the cork board. Spider Specimen Art by Aly Dosdall_close 1 I die cut 36 spiders from several black and brown 6×6 papers from the Shine and Indian Summer collections using the Spider Shape Die and my Evolution. I selected eight different papers–half semi-solids and half with patterns to create a nice contrast and just enough visual interest. I arranged them in rows and columns of six, layering three small black foam squares beneath each one for plenty of dimension. Spider Specimen Art by Aly Dosdall_close 2 To increase the creepy factor, and to add another element of visual interest, I stuck a dressmakers pin into each spider and through the cork board background. I love the subtle but spooky look they create! This was a fun and easy project, and I can’t wait to get this on my living room shelf. Are you a specimen art fan?

~Aly

Supplies:

Spider Shape Die
Evolution
Indian Summer Paper Pack
Indian Summer 6×6 Paper Pad
Shine 6×6 Paper Pad

Leave a Reply

