Throwback Thursday: Halloween Door Hanger

For today’s Throwback Thursday we are going way back to fall of 2012 when we released the spooky Black Widow collection. I love the sophisticated macabre feel to this collection, and the combination of the traditional orange, white, and black with the unexpected brown is just super cool. Since it makes me giddy to use up my stash I decided to use scraps from this collection to create a Halloween Door Hanger to put on our front porch Halloween night so that trick-or-treaters know we’re home and ready for them.

Halloween Door Hanger by Aly Dosdall

I started by creating the door hanger base from a 12 x 12 inch piece of chipboard. I trimmed it to 4 x 10 inches and then cut a piece of black spider web patterned paper the same size. I used the Magnetic Circle Cutter to cut a 2 1/2″ hole in the top center of the chipboard and paper, and then I adhered them together.  I added a piece of Gold Metallic Washi Tape to the top and then rounded the corners with my 1/2″ & 1/4″ Corner Chomper.

Halloween Door Hanger by Aly Dosdall_close 1

Next I created my sentiment. I used my electronic die cutting machine to cut most of the words from orange patterned paper, but to mix things up a bit and to create a bit more interest in the sentiment, I die cut the word “DARE” from Sheer Metallic Gold Cardstock using the High Rise Alphabet Die and then added a Black Widow layered chipboard sticker that says, “BEWARE”.

Halloween Door Hanger by Aly Dosdall_close 2

I added an embossed chandelier sticker and a few gold sequins as accents to complement the gold washi tape. I love the gold trend for fall projects this year, and it refreshes the Black Widow collection perfectly. Mixing old and new is a great way to go!



Black Widow Paper Pack
Black Widow Layered Chipboard Titles
Black Widow Embossed Stickers
Sheer Metallic Paper Pad
Metallic Washi Tape–Gold
High Rise Alphabet Die
Magnetic Circle Cutter
Corner Chomper–1/2″ & 1/4″
12×12 Chipboard

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Halloween Door Hanger

Leave a Reply

