Gratitude Journal: Part 2

Last week I shared my plans for creating this year’s gratitude journal for my yearly project, 15 Days of Gratitude. I determined the size and structure of my journal and gathered my supplies. I’ve worked on my journal over the weekend and today I’m going to share the covers of my journal and show you how I created them.

gratitude journal covers

My album is 6×8 inches so I trimmed some 8×8 inch Cinch Chipboard to size. I really wanted to incorporate the texture of fabric into my journal so I used some to cover the chipboard pieces.

gratitude journal covers_close

I chose some yellow cotton fabric to match the Shine paper collection I’m using, and trimmed two pieces slightly larger than the chipboard covers.


Then I wrapped the fabric tightly around the chipboard, folding the corners in, and hot glued it down. To hide the inside of the fabric covered chipboard I layered some paper over it and secured it with hot glue.


I’m getting excited about this project! There’s something motivating about getting the covers done–it always sets the tone for my mini albums and journals. I’ve started on the inside pages and I can’t wait to get those finished and share them with you on the blog. Watch for another Gratitude Journal installment this Thursday.



8×8 Cinch Chipboard
Shine 12×12 Paper Pad
Shine 6×6 Paper Pad
Shine Journaling Cards
Shine Alpha Block Stickers

Shine Cork Stickers
Shine Acrylic Shapes
Enamel Shapes–Neutral
Feather Shape Die
Evolution Advanced

Leave a Reply

