Gratitude Journal: Part 3

I’m super excited about this post! I’ve finally finished the inside pages of my gratitude journal and today I’ll share those with you. Seeing as today is exactly two weeks before Thanksgiving, it’s perfect timing since today’s the first day I’ll start recording things I’m thankful for in my journal.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall

There are fourteen double pages in my journal, plus an envelope at the end where I will keep my written thoughts after I finish recording blessings for two weeks. All of the pages are made with paper–some just 6×8 blocks, some file folders I made with my Envelope Punch Board, and one envelope at the end of the journal.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_close 1

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_close 2

Each double page spread has a tab on the right edge of the right page where I’ll add the number of the day (1-15). Each spread has a journaling spot on one side, and a spot for a photo(s) on the other. I’ll also add a date stamp to each spread on a tab as well.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 1

I added liftable flaps to some pages by securing them with washi tape and adding a tab. It’s a fun interactive element where I can add hidden journaling or that can be layered over photos.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 2

I also added some pockets for journaling cards made of vellum and kraft paper. As I usually do with mini albums and journals, I repeated certain elements throughout the journal to create a sense of unity.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 3

Each page includes at least one journaling card, die cut feathers, and tabs. I’ve also included washi tape, gold sequins, enamel shapes, cork stickers, mini wooden clothespins and acrylic shapes on several pages in my journal.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 4

The plan is to write down 5 things I’m grateful for each day (starting today) until Thanksgiving day. I can also include a photo (or more than one if I want) on the same page.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 5

I plan to either take photos, use photos I already have, or find high res creative commons photos online of things on my list of blessings. I may create some photo collages depending on how many photos I decide to use for each page.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 6

Here’s an example of one of the file folder pages I created with my Envelope Punch Board. I love having a few of these in my journal. To learn how to use your punch board to create mini file folders, CLICK HERE.

So Blessed 2014 by Aly Dosdall_pg 7

These photos only show half of the pages in my journal. To see the rest of them you can visit my blog here: It Happened Like This. Next week I’ll share the first seven pages of my journal all filled in with photos, journaling, etc so you can see how it works. If you’ve created a gratitude journal or album of some kind be sure to share it with us on our Facebook page. We’d love to see how you remember your blessings at this time of year.



Shine 12×12 Paper Pad
Shine 6×6 Paper Pad
Shine Journaling Cards
Shine Cork Stickers
Shine Acrylic Shapes
Enamel Shapes–Neutral
Washi Tape–Multi-Color Pack, Metallic Gold
Tap Punch–File
Envelope Punch Board
Feather Shape Die
Evolution Advanced
Cinch Chipboard–8×8
Cinch Binding Wire–Black 1 1/4″
Cinch Wire Cutters

5 thoughts on “Gratitude Journal: Part 3

    • yes, i used the cinch to bind it. i figured out how many total holes the whole spine would need first, and then left two holes blank on each end (by pulling out the nobs) so that the groups of 4 holes would be evenly spaced. then i counted in four holes from both ends and pulled out whatever holes were left in the middle. hope that helps! =)

Leave a Reply

