Thankful Layout

Scrapbooking with themed products can be lots of fun and can help projects come together more quickly. But, what if you don’t have themed products? Or you prefer not to use them? Or maybe the themed products don’t coordinate well with your photos? How can you create a themed layout using non-themed products?

So Very Thankful by Aly Dosdall

Take a look at this Thankful layout I created using the adorable It Factor collection. It’s a page about gratitude for my amazing family and a really awesome trip we recently took together. But while it’s about gratitude, I chose not to use any Thanksgiving or fall themed products.

So Very Thankful by Aly Dosdall_close 2

Rather than choosing a collection to match the season, I chose to use a paper collection that feels happy to me which is the pervasive feeling in these photos. I love the colors in this collection. They really make me happy, and that’s what this page is all about–gratitude for the things in life that make me happy.

I cut some embellishments out of the journaling cards and one of the 6×6 papers. I love to turn to my paper and journaling cards for DIY embellishments. They always coordinate perfectly and help to use up my paper stash.So Very Thankful by Aly Dosdall_close 1

I also chose to convert my photos to black and white before printing them. While real life is in color and I love using color photos, I think there’s some ethereal and timeless about moments captured in black and white. This trip was one of our all time favorites so I wanted to capture it in a timeless way. Finally, I added some machine stitching details for increased texture on my page.

While this layout is about gratitude, you can apply the same principle to any themed or seasonal scrapbook page. Try making a Halloween photo to match your kids costumes, or the candy from the photos of the stash. Consider creating a Christmas layout using pastel colors reminiscent of a retro snow-covered Christmas tree. Not only will this jump start your creativity, but you’ll use up your stash as well!



It Factor 12×12 Paper Pad
It Factor 6×6 Paper Pad
It Factor Wood Stickers
It Factor Acrylic Stickers
It Factor Journaling Cards
Shine Alphablock Stickers
Nesting Tag Dies
Evolution Advanced
Washi Tape–Sea Foam, Onyx

Leave a Reply

