Paper Gem Garland

I recently re-organized most of my craft room (see the posts on my personal blog HERE), and as part of that I re-did some of my decor. I love the paper gem trend right now, so I decided to create a paper gem garland to dress up a small wall-mounted shelf in one corner of my room.

Paper Gem Garland by Aly Dosdall_filtered

I chose navy and aqua papers from the It Factor collection since they coordinate well with the colors in my space. I alternated octahedron and decahedron shapes in my garland, making them all the 3 inch size.

Paper Gem Garland by Aly Dosdall_close_filtered

I followed the instructions in the booklet that comes with the Triangle Score Guide, and began by scoring my 12×12 paper on the Trim and Score Board at 3, 6, and 9 inches.

paper gems 1

Then I removed my paper and placed the Triangle Score Guide on the Trim and Score Board with the “A” side facing upward, lining up the 3 and 9 inch marks on the guide with the corresponding marks on the board. I rotated my paper 60° counter clock-wise and lined it up in the corner of the guide. Then I flipped the blue guide up on the score board and scored my paper at 0, 3, 6, 9, and 12 inches.

paper gems 2

Next, I removed my paper and placed the Triangle Scoring Guide on the board with the “B” side up, again lining up the 3 and 9 inch marks with the corresponding marks on the board. I rotated my paper 120° clock-wise and placed it in the corner of the scoring guide. I again scored my paper at 0, 3, 6, 9, and 12 inches.

paper gems 3

Finally, I followed the cutting template shown in the instruction booklet to cut out the paper gems, then I folded and adhered them.

paper gems 4

Here are a few tips I recommend to make creating paper gem garlands easier:

  • fold the bottom left corner of your paper to keep track of your paper alignment as you rotate it
  • fold incomplete score lines to complete them
  • insert twine into the paper gems before folding and adhering
  • use a glue gun or extra strong adhesive

Watch for a tutorial soon on how to create the double pinwheel bouquet on the shelf below the paper gem garland in my newly re-done space!

~Aly

Supplies:

It Factor 12×12 Paper Pad
Trim and Score Board
Triangle Score Guide
Aqua Sew Easy Baker’s Twine

5 thoughts on “Paper Gem Garland

Leave a Reply

