Pinwheel Bouquet

I’ve had so much fun lately using my favorite We R tools to create some decor pieces for my craft room! Last week I shared how I used the Triangle Score Guide to make the paper gem garland I hung in my newly re-organized space (if you missed that post you can catch it HERE). Today I’m going to show you how I made the pinwheel bouquet that sits on the little shelf underneath that garland.

Pinwheel Bouquet by Aly Dosdall 1

The pinwheels I created for this simple bouquet are double pinwheels, meaning that I layered two sheets of paper together to add twice as many vanes to my pinwheels. I love the fullness of the double pinwheels!

Pinwheel Bouquet by Aly Dosdall 2

I made these using my Pinwheel Punch Board. The punch board allows you to make several different styles of pinwheels–simple ones, double ones (like mine), layered simple, layered double, etc. You can use the same paper for double pinwheels, or your can use different paper to have different color vanes. They can be as basic or as elaborate as you’d like!

Pinwheel Bouquet by Aly Dosdall 3

To create these basic double pinwheels, first I cut two sheets of paper to the desired size on the board. (All three pinwheels in my bouquet are 4 inches, but the one I’m demonstrating in this tutorial is 6 inches.) Then I raised the punch board arm, and punched the corners of both papers.

Pinwheel Bouquet 1

Next, I placed the first paper on the board lining up one of the corners with the corresponding measurement from the white templates on the left side of the board. I then lowered the arm and inserted the blade into the track on the left side. I pulled the blade down to the bottom of the track, cutting a pinwheel vane into the paper. I removed the blade, rotated the paper leaving the arm in place, replaced the blade and cut vanes into each of the remaining corners.

Pinwheel Bouquet 2

Once I finished with the first paper, I raised the arm and placed the second paper on the board lining the corner up with the corresponding measurement from the red templates on the right side of the board. I lowered the arm and inserted the blade into the track on the right side. I pulled the blade down to the bottom of the track, cutting a pinwheel vane into the paper. I removed the blade, rotated the paper leaving the arm in place, replaced the blade and cut vanes into each of the remaining corners.

Pinwheel Bouquet 3

I layered the two punched and cut papers, aligning them at a 45° angle to each other. Then I used the Pinwheel Attachments to help assemble the double pinwheel.

Pinwheel Bouquet 6

I pulled the ends of the vanes into the center of the pinwheel, placing the punched holes over the pinwheel attachment post. I alternated vanes from the first and second papers, and when I finished I snapped the cap on the end of the attachment post. To finish off my pinwheel I added an enamel dot to the mount on the post, and inserted a grey striped paper straw into the back of the attachment post.

Pinwheel Bouquet 7

Pinwheel Bouquet 9

Making pinwheels with the Pinwheel Punch Board is so easy, and the possibilities are endless. Pinwheels are great for any paper craft project–cards, gift wrapping, home decor, and more!

~Aly

Supplies:

It Factor 12×12 Paper Pad
Pinwheel Punch Board
Pinwheel Attachment Kit
Enamel Dots–Neutral. Cool

3 thoughts on “Pinwheel Bouquet

  1. This is my absolute favorite board.I would have bought this the second it hit the shelves had I had the money.It’s my #1 on my lit of MUST HAVE FOR 2015.LOOKS HOW BEAUTIFUL . IM SO IN LOVE WITH THIS BOARD

Leave a Reply

