Washi Tape Birthday Candles

For me Washi Tape is one of those gifts that just keeps on giving.  I already love it so much, and yet I seem to keep finding fun new ways to use it…yes! (Cue fist pump.) It can be functional, decorative, or both. It’s self-adhesive, flexible, and easy to use. And it works great on layouts, cards, and tons of other craft projects.

Here’s a fun way to use washi tape in a decorative way–washi tape birthday candles!

Washi Tape Candle Card by Aly Dosdall 1

Simply peel a length of washi tape, place it vertically on your paper, draw or cut out a yellow flame shape and add it to your candle. Voila! I used my candles for a birthday card, but you can add these to layouts, frames, bookmarks, 3D projects, gift packaging, etc. I chose fairly light/neutral papers and embellishments for my card to allow the washi tape candles to be the focus. To further highlight the candles, I placed them inside an instaframe that I cut out with the Albums Made Easy Instagram Dies and adhered it with foam squares for added dimension.

Washi Tape Candle Card by Aly Dosdall 2

I typed and printed my card sentiment using one of my new favorite fonts–a watercolor brush script font called Story Book. Then I cut it into a strip, and added a few white Enamel Dots to finish off my card.

Washi Tape Candle Card by Aly Dosdall 3

Designer tip: most washi tape shows up better when placed on plain white cardstock. If you’d like to place it on a different color background, adhere it to white cardstock first, then cut it out along the border of the tape, and place it on your colored background.

So, are you a washi tape fan? What are your favorite ways to use washi tape? Be sure to share your washi projects on our Facebook page!



Washi Tape–Sea Foam, Pomegranate, Multi-Color, Pumpkin
Enamel Shapes–Neutral
Albums Made Easy Instagram Dies
Evolution Advanced
It Factor Paper Pad

One thought on “Washi Tape Birthday Candles

Leave a Reply

