An Easter Basket Created with Punches

Hi everyone, it’s Traci and I’m excited to be sharing a fun Easter project with you today.  I was inspired by a similar design I saw on Pinterest, and I knew I had the perfect We R tools to make one easily.  I’ve included some instructions for making this basket, so let’s get started!


To create the basket, I used the Gift Box Punch Board, the 2-edge doily punch, and paper from the new Hello Darling collection.  I also used some white card stock and ribbon from American Crafts. 

To start, I used the gift box punch board and a piece of 12×12 white card stock to create a 4x4x4 box.  I followed the easy XL directions on the board. 


Once my paper was scored and punched, I adhered it together to form my box, making sure to fold my top flaps in and adhere them to the inside.


Next, I cut a piece of green Hello Darling paper into nine 3 3/4” x 3 3/4” squares, inked the edges, and adhered all of the pieces around the inside and outside of my box.  Then I added double-sided adhesive around the top and bottom edges as shown in the photo below.


To create the basket-like strips, I used the 2-edge doily punch (set to punch 2 edges) to punch a piece of 12×12 pink Hello Darling paper into six 12” strips.  I then cut each strip into 4 1/2” pieces.  I ended up with 12 pieces and some left over scraps.  I then punched 2 more 12” pink strips to use on both sides of the basket’s handle.

I adhered the 12 punched sections to 12 white card stock strips measuring 1 1/8” x 4 1/2”.   I also adhered the 12” pink strips to both sides of a white card stock strip measuring 1 1/8” x 12”.   I trimmed the 12” handle down to 9” and adhered it to the outside of my box.  I then adhered the top and bottom edges of the 4 1/2” strips along the double-sided adhesive on each side of my box, creating a bend with my fingers as I positioned each piece.


To finish my basket, I added ribbon around the top and bottom edges of my box, and a pink bow to each side.  This little basket will be perfect for a gift or home decor.  Mine is now filled with candy to welcome guests by my front door. 


I’d encourage you to give this project a try and let us know how you plan to use your basket!   Share pictures with us on our Facebook page!  Thanks for stopping by today!




Gift Box Punch Board
2-edge doily punch
Hello Darling Greetings paper
Hello Darling Gracious paper
White Card stock
American Crafts ribbon
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine

3 thoughts on “An Easter Basket Created with Punches

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Punch Board Projects | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

