Baker’s Twine Easter Card

Hello! Blog hostess, Aly Dosdall, here again. While my first love is paper, I always enjoy combining other materials with my paper projects to add some texture. You can find me adding bits of fabric to layouts, fibers to cards, and burlap to home décor. So, today I’d like to share a pretty Easter card that features some Baker’s Twine combined with some of my favorite patterned papers from the new Hello Darling collection.

Baker's Twine Easter Card by Aly Dosdall

To create this card I first cut a 4 ¼ x 5 ½  base for my card. Then I cut a 4 x 5 ¼ piece of patterned paper for layering over the base. Next, I die cut a bunny shape into the top of the patterned paper using my Evolution Advanced. I placed the die cut patterned paper over the base and marked the outline of the shape lightly with a pencil so I knew where to add my adhesive to the base for attaching the twine.

mark shape

I removed the die cut layer and covered the area within the pencil marks with double sided tape, extending about ¼” beyond the border just to be safe.

adhesive layers

Then I began to lay the twine across the adhesive so that it was covered entirely. I layed it across from right to left, and then folded it and went across from left to right. Since the loops at each end extend past the border of the shape, they won’t be seen once the die cut layer is place on top of the base. Be sure to press the strands together so they’re sitting right next to each other.

add twine

Once I finished adding the twine, I placed some foam squares on the back of the die cut layer and adhered it over the base so that the twine showed through the bunny shape. The foam squares add a little extra dimension, and they allow room for the layer of twine.

Baker's Twine Easter Card by Aly Dosdall_2

I embossed my sentiment using my Evolution Advanced and one of the new Rise and Shine Embossing Strips. The embossed sentiment really pops when placed on plain smooth light color cardstock.

Baker's Twine Easter Card by Aly Dosdall_3

I added a small section of a paper doily, a flower from the Hello Darling Ephemera pack, and a few sequins to finish off my card.

Baker's Twine Easter Card by Aly Dosdall_1

I used this technique on a card, but you could do the same thing on any paper craft project. I love the added dimension and texture of the twine. Combined with the embossing and the doily, it really makes me happy. How do you like to add texture and dimension to your paper craft projects?


Aqua Baker’s Twine
Hello Darling 6×6 Paper Pad
Hello Darling Ephemera Pack
Evolution Advanced
Rise and Shine Embossing Strips

3 thoughts on “Baker’s Twine Easter Card

  1. Fun idea. I’ve been trying to think of a project for my Stampin’ ladies next week and I think we might do some flowers. Something different and pretty. thanks for sharing the idea.

Leave a Reply

