Pinwheel Birthday Banner

Hello! Samantha here today, and I am so excited to be sharing my first project with you as part of the We R Memory Keepers Design Team. For my project today I got to spend lots of time playing with the Pinwheel Punch Board, and I am in love with how easy and fun it is to use. To me there is just something so happy and festive about pinwheels, so I turned some into a pinwheel birthday banner.

Pinwheel Birthday Banner by Samantha Taylor 1

You can create single pinwheels (four bladed pinwheels) or double pinwheels (two single style pinwheels layered up for an eight bladed pinwheel) with the Pinwheel Punch Board. For my banner, I created 10 double pinwheels with paper from Cakes and Candles. Each pinwheel was made from two pieces of 4 x 4 paper, for a single 4 ½” pinwheel.

Pinwheel Birthday Banner by Samantha Taylor 2

I wanted to string the banner through the middle of the pinwheel, instead of having to punch a hole through one of the blades. To accomplish this, I threaded a loop of twine through the hole in the center of the pinwheel.

Pinwheel Birthday Banner by Samantha Taylor 3

Then, I looped the twine around the legs of a brad, just under the head of the brad. I used the twine wrapped brad to secure the folded blades of the pinwheel in place.

Pinwheel Birthday Banner by Samantha Taylor 4

I strung two sets of pinwheels. I put five pinwheels on each length of twine (for a total of 10 pinwheels). Once I had the pinwheels where I wanted them on the twine, I used the Cakes and Candles Alpha Block Stickers to add “HAPPY” to the top set of pinwheels, and “DAY” to the bottom set.

Pinwheel Birthday Banner by Samantha Taylor 5

One unique feature to the Alpha Block Stickers is that you can mix and match the positive and negative images, as you get both in a pack of alphas. It’s a really simple way to add a lot of character to lettering on a project.

Pinwheel Birthday Banner by Samantha Taylor 6

My youngest son’s birthday is coming up at the beginning of May, and I can’t wait to hang this pinwheel birthday banner up for him! I have always loved creating pinwheels, and now with the Pinwheel Punch Board, not only are they fun but super easy to create. Have you gotten your hands on this fun tool yet? I’d love to see what lovely things you’ve made with it!

Supplies:

Pinwheel Punch Board
Cake and Candles Streamers Paper
Cake and Candles Gift Wrap Paper
Cake and Candles Party Hat Paper
Cake and Candles Presents Paper
Cake and Candles Balloons Paper
Cake and Candles Confetti Paper
Cake and Candles Hip Hip Hooray Paper
Cake and Candles Candles Paper
Cakes and Candles Alpha Block Stickers
Sew Easy Baker’s Twine, Yellow
American Crafts Brads, Brights
American Crafts This to That Foam Dots

10 thoughts on “Pinwheel Birthday Banner

  1. I love the idea of making banners for all kinds of celebrations. Great idea. The double pinwheels are a great bonus. Didn’t realize this could be done. Looking forward to hopefully receiving one.

  2. My granddaughter who loves pinwheels is turning 3 on April 30th and I REAALLY, REALLY, REALLY want to make pinwheel invitations, banners and other party decorations for her party! Would love to win this so that I can see her beautiful smile when she sees all the pinwheels! We would use this almost every day because she is so enamored with pinwheels! I got her one a while ago and she even sleeps with it. It is the “Monster Begone” tool of choice for her! LOL Thanks for the chance to win this so I can see her beautiful smile!

  3. This is awesome! I am going to try making one for my niece’s 5th birthday party – thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

