Shabby Chic Spring Wreath

Good morning, We R fans! Jen McDermott here to share a super cute and very quick and easy project to help you decorate your home for Spring!  Best of all, this is a no sew, no glue, project, so you can whip it up during a nap time, or even while enjoying your morning cup of coffee!

I hate to admit it, but as of last week, I *still* had my Christmas wreath on my front door.  It’s just so pretty and sparkly, and not overtly “Christmasy”, but it still most definitely was NOT ushering us into the new Spring season, and really had outstayed it’s welcome.  I had an idea for a quick fix, and a little bit of spare time, so I whipped up this adorable shabby chic wreath to replace it!

Shabby Chic Wreath by Jen McDermott 1

First, I looked through my fabric and paper stashes to find some paper and fabric scraps that would coordinate.  I settled on We R’s Little One paper pad, and some pretty pink and crème fabric.  Next, I grabbed a straw wreath that I had used  for my Fall décor, and some yardage of unbleached muslin.

Designer tip: I always keep a couple of yards of unbleached muslin hanging around.  It’s cheap,  it takes fabric paint and heat transfer material like a champ, and is a great workhorse for so many projects. I love that it gives a great “farmhouse chic” vibe while being a whole lot cleaner and easier to cut compared to burlap.

I snipped and ripped my fabric into about 2.5 inch strips, and wrapped them around the straw wreath, then secured the ends with stick pins.

Shabby Chic Wreath by Jen McDermott 2 copy

Next, I grabbed my Little One paper pad and my Pinwheel punch board, and made three pinwheels of different sizes to attach to my wreath.  I used my Crop-A-Dile and eyelets to secure the pinwheels, and stuck them to the wreath using more stick pins.  Then, I covered one of the eyelets with an enamel dot that drew in the blue from the fabric.

Shabby Chic Wreath by Jen McDermott 3

Shabby Chic Wreath by Jen McDermott 4

Finally, I tied a muslin scrap around the top of the wreath as a hanger, and hung this pretty wreath on my front door.  Easy peasy!  I think it looks great, and is such a breath of fresh air to help us usher in Spring!

Shabby Chic Wreath by Jen McDermott 1

What do you think? Do you have any fun Spring projects using our Pinwheel Punch Board?  Share them with us on our Facebook page; we’d love to see your creations!


Little One Paper Pad
Pinwheel Punch Board
Trim and Score Board
Enamel Dots and Shapes

3 thoughts on “Shabby Chic Spring Wreath

  1. That looks really nice on that door. The colors are perfect and it stands out and I love the pinwheels on it. I don’t expect to see pinwheels, a bow yes, pinwheels, no. What a great wreath!

Leave a Reply

