Party Hats {Free Printable Template}

Hi there, Aimee here sharing some party hats for Birthday Week, using the new collection Cake & Candles. It just happens to be my nephew’s 3rd birthday and these hats came in handy!

Party Hats by Aimee Maddern 1

Party Hat by Aimee Maddern 11

I started off by cutting the hats with my digital die cut machine, if you don’t have a die cut machine below is a link to a similar party hat printable template. 

Party Hat Template

I used Celebrate, Cupcakes and Party Hat {imagine that} 12×12 paper from Cake and Candles. After the hats were cut, I adhered the edges of the paper together to form the hat.


To create the pom poms I used We R’s Bakers Twine in Orange, Aqua and Yellow. I wrapped the twine several times around my fingers but you could also use a ruler {I probably used about 3-5 yards per pom pom}. With a separate piece of twine I tied a knot around the middle of the whole bundle of twine. Once the knot was tied, I cut the loops of the twine.




Once the loops were cut I fluffed the tails to create a round pom pom, some tails may need to be trimmed more. You can even try rolling the twine like a ball in your palms. I hot glued the pom poms to the top of each party hat, and the fluffed the pom pom again. I used some more twine for the ties by punching holes on either side of the hat and attaching the twine with knots. I embellished each hat using Ephemera Bits and foam adhesive.




Thanks for stopping by the W R blog; what will you create with Cakes and Candles?


Cakes and Candles 12×12 Paper Pad
Cakes and Candles Ephemera Pack
Aqua Baker’s Twine
Yellow Baker’s Twine
Orange Baker’s Twine

Leave a Reply

