Take a Tour of Aly’s Craft Room

Hello! Aly here and I’m so excited to share a peek into my craft room with you today! And this week is the perfect time to do it since my room is now clean and will be a total disaster this Saturday while I party on National Scrapbook Day. I’ll give you an overview of my space today, and then I’ll be back again on Thursday to share some details and tips with you. So, are you ready??

Here we go!

aly dosdall craft room 2

Just pretend you’re standing in the doorway of my office, because that’s where I took this photo. =)  Let’s start in this corner on the left side of my room, and we’ll go around to the right. One of my favorite things about my craft room is my patterned paper border. When we moved into this home almost 5 years ago this room had a lovely double chair rail with an outdoor/hunting themed wallpaper border. I’m not really a hunter or an outdoor enthusiast so I decided to cover it with something that was totally me–patterned paper and Mod Podge. Perfect!

aly dosdall craft room 1

This is where I store most of my supplies–in my Ikea Kallax shelving unit. My craft room, furniture, and storage containers have come together a bit at a time over the years (many of which we have been on a tight budget) and so I have a somewhat eclectic collection of clearance, free, DIY, and garage sale and thrift store finds. It works for me, and it makes me happy!




Next to this corner of my room is a closet where I store my albums, other family history documents, and some general crafting supplies. I love that I can close these closet doors and the clutter disappears!


To the right of the closet is a small workspace for my hubby (which I’m secretly eyeing for a die cutting station, hee hee), and then my main workspace right beneath the window in my room. I love to work with as much natural light as possible, and I like to have my laptop next to me when I’m working so I can look at inspiration when I need to and type up some journaling if needed.

aly dosdall craft room 3

My main work surface is a corner unit and as you turn to the right, you’ll see my printer, some storage drawers, and my die cutting supplies. I keep my most commonly used tools either in a caddy on my work surface or in those storage drawers so that my go-to’s are at my fingertips while I’m working.

aly dosdall craft room 4


Above that area is a shelf where I store some additional supplies that I don’t use very often, and some baskets where I keep completed mini albums and cards. Whenever I need a card I just pull one from my basket! I also display my latest and greatest layouts on two grip strips so I can swap them out when I feel like it. It’s fun to look up and see my family’s smiling faces while I’m working.


Of course my room is a continual work in progress as I’m adjusting things to fit my current stash, my creative process, and my crafting needs. And one key to keeping things working well is consistent purging, sorting, and re-organizing. I hope you’ve enjoyed this little tour of my craft room. Be sure to visit each day this week for more craft room photos and organization tips!

8 thoughts on “Take a Tour of Aly’s Craft Room

  1. I have been putting off cleaning up my craft room today. Maybe this was just the inspiration I need to get moving! Your space is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

