A Peek at Kathy’s Crafty Space

Hi peeps! How about a peek into my crafty space? I’m really fortunate to have a large attic room to spread out and make great big messes in! I tidied up before I took these photos, so don’t be fooled that it’s this organized! Actually, it’s never this clean! Ha!


Above is my desk, my command center, where the computer sits and blog posts are typed up. Although I try not to do much crafting here, that doesn’t always work since I enjoy perusing Facebook and Pinterest while I create.


Right behind my desk are these ladder shelves where I store items like paper collections, accents and tools. Most of the plastic containers and drawers were purchased at Target years ago. Anytime there was a sale, I’d buy a few more.


A couple folding tables set up side-by-side make up my work table. Half is used for die cutting while the other side is mostly used for stamping.


Since my ladder shelves are pretty full I bought some of these inexpensive wire shelves. Notice on the far right side I was able to create paper slots by adding additional shelves attached with zip-ties.


Over in a window nook, I have another ladder shelf and a simple folding table for my paper cutter. Notice the center shelf is used for photographing my projects. Lots of natural light is the key to good pictures. I also have another window on the opposite side of the room that I photograph at if this one is too sunny.

Something that I’ve learned over the years that I’d like to share with newer paper crafters…my favorite organizing containers are repurposed items and antiques that I find at thrift stores or the flea market. They’re inexpensive and add a lot of character to my space. For example, I found this bamboo utensil drawer that I keep washi tape in.


I also have quite a number of antique cheese boxes that are perfect for so many kinds of supplies, like Copics, spray inks and ink pads.


I love this old ‘grease’ can and us it for button storage. Fun and unique.


Hope you enjoyed taking a look inside my space. Feel free to ask any questions if you have any.

Thanks for sharing a peek into your awesome space Kathy! I love your unique storage containers–way cool.

Be sure to check back in with us tomorrow for National Scrapbook Day. We’ll be giving away lots of awesome prizes and sharing some fabulous inspiration from our design team. Come on over and bring a crafty friend along. You won’t want to miss it!

26 thoughts on “A Peek at Kathy’s Crafty Space

  1. What a fantastic organised crafting room. But I missed your laser printer. You wrote, that you were using your laser printer to create your mother-day card. – My question: why is it necessary to print out the words with a laser printer, what is the differenz between a canon printer and a laser one? It would be very nice, if you could explain it to me / us.😉 nora

  2. Love your space. I have too much stuff to be that organized. How do you store dies? Embossing folders?

    • Hi Carol! I store my thin metal dies in A2 size envelopes with an example cut pasted on the front…then I have the envelopes in an old wooden box that I found at my neighborhood antique store. Wish I could attach a photo here. My embossing folders are also in an old wooden box that I found at a yard sale for just $2! To keep as clean and organized as I can, I keep a box of donations going all the time.🙂

  3. Pretty and organized space. I have to ask you…..are all the craft products you own in your space? I ask because I have so much stuff there is no way it could look that neat lol! Thanks for sharing


    • Hi Gina! Actually, I always have a donation box set out. If my space gets too cluttered it clutters my mind and creativity. I also love to share and make sure all my goodies get used. I give to Goodwill, my niece, who is a teacher and my son’s summer camp organization.

  4. Lovely place to craft! So cheery with your yellow walls and wonderful that most of your storage is white – nice and clean and bright! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

