Father’s Day Photo Card

Hi there, it’s Aly with you today. Special occasions are the perfect opportunity to include photos on your handmade cards. Moms, dads, grandmas and grandpas love to receive photos of the littles, and photo birthday or holiday cards are so much fun. Here’s an easy idea for including a photo on a Father’s Day card using the Evolution Advanced.

father's day photo card with evolution advanced by aly dosdall

To create this photo card I started by trimming a piece of patterned paper from the Shine collection and trimming it to 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″. When folded in half this creates a 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ card. I chose a paper that was semi-solid and contrasted well against my black and white photo so that the antler shape is easily distinguished.

die cut photo card with evolution advanced 1

Next I placed my paper on my Evolution Magnetic Mat B facing up with the Antler Die facing down on the right half of the paper (since that side will end up as the card front once it’s folded). The magnetism of the mat holds the die and the paper in place.

die cut photo card with evolution advanced 2

Then I placed the platform upside down on top of the magnetic mat and ran the “sandwich” through my Evolution Advanced.

father's day photo card with evolution advanced by aly dosdall_inside

I removed my die cut paper, folded it in half, and adhered my 4″ x 5 1/4″ photo inside. Photo tip: Use the rule of thirds when composing your shots like I did in the photo above. See how my kids are positioned on the bottom third line?

Next I added some flat embellishments and a computer-generated sentiment. To finish off the card I embellished the front and added another computer-generated sentiment.

father's day photo card with evolution advanced by aly dosdall_close

This photo card is a fun twist on traditional cards, and adds a unique and personal element. You can create die cuts of any shape or size on the front of your cards depending on your theme or occasion. What type of die would you use on a photo card?

Supplies:

Evolution Advanced
Evolution Magnetic Mat B
Antler Die
Albums Made Easy Dies–Arrows
Shine Collection
Shine Alphablock Stickers

One thought on “Father’s Day Photo Card

  1. What is the difference between a magnetic mat A and mat B? Also am I able to use a clear platform rather than the platform pictured above?

Leave a Reply

