Clothesline Shadow Box

Good morning! Jen McDermott here to share an easy and reusable way to display your photos!  I love shadowboxes, but with four small kids that are always changing, I want the flexibility to change up my photo display without having to take it all apart.  So, I created a clothesline shadow box with itty-bitty clothespins, so I can switch out the embellishments as I wish!

Clothesline Shadowbox by Jen McDermott-1

First, I grabbed a white shadowbox from a big box craft store. Then, for my background, I wanted something timeless that could go with any season of the year. So, I went with our denim paper, because you know, JEANS go with EVERYTHING. (How cute will this be with a patriotic theme for the 4th of July?! And in fall colors when I switch it out in October??)  Then, I affixed the WeR baker’s twine to the back of the page using tape, keeping the lines a little bit wonky.

Clothesline Shadowbox by Jen McDermott-2

I gathered up my papers, embellishments and photos, and started arranging them on the clothesline.  I LOVE the Hello Darling collection for this project because the colors really compliment my photos and the the denim paper. I used a journaling card from the Noteworthy paper, and even used the little strip at the bottom for an accent.

Clothesline Shadowbox by Jen McDermott-3

I also threw in several pieces of the Ephemera Bits and used one of my gem dies with sparkle paper to add some more interest.  Then I threw on a few more embellishments, including the cork stickers, and placed it all in the box, ready to be displayed!

Clothesline Shadowbox by Jen McDermott-4

Clothesline Shadowbox by Jen McDermott-5

Designer photo tip: when taking pictures of children, get down to their eye level; don’t take pictures from above.

I just love how versatile this project is, and I’m already thinking of ways to make it summery! How about you?  Do you use clotheslines creatively in your home? Share with us here and on our Facebook page!

Clothesline Shadowbox by Jen McDermott-1



Hello Darling Noteworthy paper
Hello Darling Cork Stickers
Hello Darling Ephemera Bits
Gems Shape Dies
Denim Paper
Evolution Advanced
Baker’s Twine

Leave a Reply

