Shaker Scapbook Layout

Hello! Samantha here today, and I am super excited to kicking off Fuse week. I am in love with all of the ways you can use the Photo Fuse Tool: shaker cards, mini albums, pocket pages; but today I’m sharing what might be my favorite creation yet, a shaker layout.

Shaker Layout by Samantha Taylor 1

First off, this is double sided layout. I had to design the layout with both sides in mind since the shaker layer can be seen on both sides. This was actually pretty simple, since when I took this photo, we took one “nice” group photo and one “silly” group photo. With that in mind I made the front side my sweet layout and the back side my silly layout. Here’s the back side (silly side) of the layout.

Shaker Layout by Samantha Taylor 2

To create this layout, I designed my layout like I normally would, except that instead of layering a paper mat around my photo, I cut a hole out around my photo. Here’s a picture of what one side of the layout looked like before I put it into a page protector and added the sequin pockets.

Shaker Layout by Samantha Taylor 3

You can see I had to design the entire layout, embellishments and all, before I added the shaker pocket, as embellishing after would be nearly impossible.

My photo with the paper mat included is 4 x 6. I wanted a 1 inch space for the shaker border around the photo, so the hole I cut out in the middle of my paper is 6 x 8. You could make this shaker area as large as you want, but I wouldn’t recommend making it smaller than 1”, or your sequins won’t have enough space to move around.

Shaker Layout by Samantha Taylor 4

When I had my layout finished, I slid it into a 12 x 12 page protector. Then, I used my Fuse Tool to seal in my photo. Next, I sealed in 3 sides of my shaker pocket (the outer edge farthest from the photo) with the Fuse. Then, I added my sequins to the pocket. Finally, I sealed the top side of the pocket, completely sealing in the sequins.

Shaker Layout by Samantha Taylor 5

I really like the way the sequins frame the photos and give an extra festive feel to this birthday layout. Have you used the Fuse for scrapbooking yet? Share your creations with us on the Facebook Page, and don’t forget to come back every day this week for more great Fuse inspiration!



Photo Fuse Tool
12 x 12 Page Protector
Cakes and Candles Streamers
Cakes and Candles Celebrate
Cakes and Candles Confetti
Cakes and Candles Party Time
Cakes and Candles 6 x 6 Paper Pad
Cakes and Candles Ephemera Bits
Cakes and Candles Enamel Shapes
Cakes and Candles Printed Wood Veneer Stickers
Cakes and Candles Alpha Block Stickers
Studio Calico Lemon Lush Sequins
American Crafts This To That Foam Tab Adhesive

2 thoughts on “Shaker Scapbook Layout

Leave a Reply

