Hot Air Balloon Card

Hello! Samantha joining you today for some summer week inspiration. Are you enjoying all the summer fun so far? No icon says summer to me quite like a hot air balloon, so today I thought I’d share a hot air balloon card and matching envelope.

Hot Air Balloon Card by Samantha Taylor 1

I don’t have a hot air balloon die, but I do have WRMK’s Light Bulb Garland Die. And you know what? With a few modifications, it makes a pretty fun hot air balloon!

Hot Air Balloon Card by Samantha Taylor 2

I started my hot air balloon by cutting the main light bulb part of the Light Bulb Garland Die out 1 time each from 3 different colors of Clearly Bold polka dot paper. I used the Clearly Bold 6 x 6 acetate pad for the body of the balloon. The patterns are smaller on the 6 x 6 pad, so you get more dots on your balloon. I started with the pink dots first, then layered the teal dots in the middle, and finished up with the purple dots on top. To make the bulb look more like a balloon, I trimmed about 1” off of the stem of each die cut.

Hot Air Balloon Card by Samantha Taylor 3

I created the basket of the balloon with a die from the Light Bulb Garland Die and paper from the Cakes and Candles 6 x 6 paper pad. To make the basket a bit cuter, I attached it to the balloon with some pink baker’s twine.

I put my Evolution Advanced Die Cutting Machine to use again on the card to create the “Let’s Party” sentiment. This time I used an embossing strip from the Fine & Dandy Embossing Strips set. Before running the strip through the Evolution, I colored all of the raised parts of the embossing folder with a pink marker, which then transferred onto the paper when run through the Evolution. I fussy cut around the raised edges of the “Let’s Party” banner once embossed to make my sentiment banner for the card.

Hot Air Balloon Card by Samantha Taylor 4

I made this card a slightly odd size. Instead of the standard A2 card, its final measurements are 4 ½ x 6. Envelopes for non-standard sized cards are no problem when you can make your own with the 1-2-3 punch board. For something a little different, I used Denim Blues Pink Stripe Fabric Paper for the envelope. When using any of the Denim Blues fabric paper with one of the punch boards, it’s best to flip it over and work on the paper (white) side. The back side holds the scoring better than the front (fabric) side, and it’s just a bit easier to punch if the back side is facing up.

Hot Air Balloon Card by Samantha Taylor 5

I also used the 1-2-3 punch board to make a purple envelope liner to slip inside the envelope. I’ll be hand delivering this card to my niece for her birthday, so I’m sealing it closed with a hello sticker from the Denim Blues Fabric Stickers, but you can pop it in the mail if you glue it shut instead and add a mailing label to the front (just make sure to add extra postage if your envelope is over ¼” thick).

Hot Air Balloon Card by Samantha Taylor 6

…and that’s how you turn a light bulb into a hot air balloon for a summer card. What’s your favorite icon for summer cards? Are you a hot air balloon lover too, or does something else just scream summer to you?

 

Supplies

Light Bulb Garland Die
Evolution Advanced Die Cutting Machine
Clearly Bold 6 x 6 Paper Pad
Cakes and Candles 6 x 6 Paper Pad
Fine & Dandy Embossing Strips
Sew Easy Pink Baker’s Twine Spool
1-2-3 Punch Board
Denim Blues Pink Stripe Fabric Paper
Denim Blues Fabric Stickers
American Crafts Primaries Card Stock (purple)
American Crafts White Card Stock
American Crafts This to That Foam Tab Adhesive
Pink Marker

5 thoughts on “Hot Air Balloon Card

  1. Super cute card and lovely detail to the envelope. (Please don’t reply to my comment I don’t like the replys filling up my inbox. )

  2. GREAT creative idea! I love it when you DT members help us get more for our money out of WRMK dies and products. Thank you so much Samantha!

  3. Why yes, I am a hot air balloon lover! So much that my very first tattoo was a hot air balloon with hearts dangling instead of a gondola.

    What an ingenious idea to use a light bulb as a balloon. Love it!

    • Oh, I love the idea of a hot air balloon with hearts dangling! I bet you get lots of compliments on that tattoo.

Leave a Reply

