Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album

Hello! Samantha here for the last day of Travel Week on the WRMK blog. For today I had an idea that was part mini album, part journal, part recipe book. I hope you enjoy my eclectic Eat Well Travel Often mini album.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 1

The inside cover of the album tells what this album is and why I wanted to make it.

“Travel changes you. We’ve found it changes the way we eat.  We found we often fall in love with something we’ve never eaten before, and decide to make it when we return home. These are those recipes.”

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 2

That’s the what and the why of the album, now let’s talk about the how. I knew I wanted to use my Cinch to bind the album, so I had a few choices. I could make something from scratch or use a kit. I decided to use a kit. My choices were then the Cinch Recipe Book Kit or the Cinch Journal Kit. I ended up using the Journal Kit because it’s a bit larger and I wanted lots of space.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 3

I started by embellishing the cover. I decided to mix and match a lot of colors, textures, and paper collections throughout this album (I’ll hopefully be adding to it for years to come, so eclectic is good!). For the cover I chose Denim Blues Fabric Paper, paper from the Shine collection, and some pops of gold.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 4

I kept the back cover a little more simple with just Denim Blues Fabric Paper.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 5

After I had the covers completed (but before I moved on to creating the insides), I bound the album. This is where the Cinch saves you so much time! It punches all of your holes for binding so quickly.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 6

…but this is my favorite part about the Cinch. The side has a place to hold your binding wire while you’re adding your paper to it. It’s one of the few times in life where I don’t need an extra pair of hands, because the Cinch is doing the holding for you!

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 7

After I bound my mini album it was time to add some recipes, photos, and journaling to the pages.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 8

The photos above and below show a recipe with 2 parts. Since they’re 2 pieces of the same dish, I kept the pages cohesive by using Denim Blues and Hello Darling paper on both of them. You can also see why at the starting of my post I called this project part mini album, part recipe book, and part journal. These pages contain the recipe, a favorite photo from our travels, and the reason why we love the recipe or a story about where we first ate it.

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor 9

My Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album contains recipes from both domestic and foreign travel, but depending on where your passion lies, you could easily configure this to your taste. Are you one of those people who plans to visit all 50 states? You could find a signature dish from each state. Backpacked across Europe in college? Highlight European foods. Love to camp? Make a book of your favorite camping foods and the memories that go along with spending time together in the great outdoors. I’d love to hear about your favorite food related travel memory in the comments!

Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album by Samantha Taylor  10

Supplies

Cinch
Cinch Journal Kit
Shine 6 x 6 Paper Pad
Shine 12 x 12 Paper Pad
Denim Blues Mint Stripe
Denim Blues Yellow Dot
Denim Blues White Dot
Denim Blues Alpha Blocks
Denim Blues Fabric Stickers
Hello Darling Delighted
Hello Darling Charming
Hello Darling Gracious
Hello Darling Cork Stickers
Hello Darling Ephemera
Silver & Gold Albums Made Easy
Crop-a-Dile Corner Chomper
Bazzill Gold Card Stock
American Crafts Tropicals Card Stock
Pebbles Homemade Gold Thickers
American Crafts Gold Glitter Thickers
Pebbles Basics White Thickers

2 thoughts on “Eat Well Travel Often Mini Album

Leave a Reply

